We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Short break with my wife. Everything excellent. Evening meal (earlybird) a delight, staff friendly and the hotel is in beautiful grounds. Two niggles. One the cooling fan for the kitchen was outside our window but the room had aircon. so we got by even in the hot weather. Two glasses out side the lift on a table did sit uncleared for the time of our visit.

Room Tip: Avoid window over looking kitchen , dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The county at the edge of the city, a great place to stay at the edge of the city and it feel like the county, lovely gardens and grounds, you can get in and out of the city easily.
Great sleep, good bar food,

Room Tip: Garden rooms lovey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just home from a 2 night stay with our 6 month old baby. Hotel was easy got to with an impressive drive up to the main building and beautiful grounds. Checked in at 3pm. Our room was across from the main building as we wanted somewhere quiet with a baby. Room 108!! Ground floor easy access with pram, large spacious room with cot bed. Room itself had a few marks on the carpet and some wallpaper torn but the room itself was clean. This was a family room so I can understand what kids can be like with crayons etc. The bathroom on the other hand was a different story. The grout of the tiles in the bathroom was filthy. For any hotel never mind 4* hotel this should not have been the case. We ate in the bar on the Friday night which was standard bar food. Both myself and my husband had very bad stomachs afterwards which we put down to the coleslaw being off!! Dinner on the 2nd night was in the AA Rosette Peacock restaurant which didn't open until 7pm. AA rosette it was certainly not, it was fine but not fine dining. The staff in the restaurant were extremely friendly, Moira and another blonde lady in particular went out of their way to sort high chair and boiling water for my sons bottle. We used the swimming pool on both days. I hear it is getting renovated....not quick enough, changing rooms had musty smell, lockers didn't lock and pool area in good need of a tidy up. Plus the windows in our room and the swimming pool were filthy. Strange as it seems given all my comments above I had a nice weekend at the hotel but when visiting dublin again I would go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms in Garden building for families quiet but room 108s bathroom needs a good cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Weemaz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tristan J, Director of Sales at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Weemaz23,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is only from the feedback of our guests that we may strive to achieve exceptional standards with all of our guests.

I am very disappointed that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Should you have the opportunity, I would be most grateful should you email me at sales@finnstowncastlehotel.com with the details of your booking so that I may investigate this fully and ensure it is improved upon.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Tristan Jacob
Director of Sales
Finnstown Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For years I have been driving past the gates to this lovely place on my way to work without realising what lay beyond the gates. Lucan is a suburb of Dublin but when you drive up the lovely long driveway into Finnstown Country House Hotel, you leave the city behind and entre a little piece of heavenly countryside. We saw an ostrich, lamas and of course the wonderful peacocks which wander freely around the beautiful gardens. The house itself is an old country manor which is beautifully decorated to represent times gone by. It is luxurious, comfortable and very relaxing. Although we weren't lucky enough to stay in the main house, we were given one of the newly refurbished garden suites, and it was really comfortable and so peaceful and quiet. We had a meal in the bar and then went for a walk before returning for a nightcap. If you are a couple wishing for a relaxing night away from it all, I highly recommend Finnstown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in two different rooms at this beautiful property last month; both rooms were nice enough but the first one had nothing more than a dribble of boiling hot water coming out of it. If I were there again I would immediately ask for a new room.

Other than that though the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great and tasted like a great Irish B&B breakfast (in a good way), and the buildings and property were lovely. We even saw a fox driving in one night.

Room Tip: Check the shower pressure before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhlashPhlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for one night as we have done on several occasions, this time the place was buzzing as there was a wedding going on and as the weather was beautiful the gardens were full of people taking advantage of the sun. The gardens are very well kept and it is a lovely place to relax and people watch.
We had a room in the annex which is just a short stroll from the main hotel, fine when the weather is good but not so good when it is not. The staff here are very pleasant, the food is lovely and the dinner menu for four courses is not overpriced at 35euro per head.
For tourists to the country the hotel is in a good position with a shopping centre close at hand and a bus stop outside the gate as well as not being too far from the motorway for those who may have a hired car.
They do have wheelchair accessible rooms and bathrooms which are well equipped with bars and rails etc.
I see that the leisure centre and pool are also being updated and are due to be finished later on this year.
I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: The annex is quiet because it is away from the main hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maureen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The main hotel is beautiful and the grounds are stunning. My first night was a Saturday and here were several events. I went o bed late but it was crazy noisy with doors slamming etc. Sunday was much quieter and very nice. The service is not great. I generally had to spend time flagging a server down for a drink even when it wasn't busy. Overall clean and beautiful with a few kinks.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Amy Stone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
1.1 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
344 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
454 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
3.6 mi away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#3 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range: £71 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing