We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucan Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lucan Spa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband booked this hotel for us as we were attending a wedding nearby. He booked it on the internet so it was only on arrival that we realised the hotel was located right by the motorway. We stayed in a family room on the road side of the hotel. Even with all the windows shut and the secondary glazing, we could still hear the traffic so we didn't have great sleep. Also the room got very warm and stuffy so we all woke up hot and bothered. The next day we asked if we could move to a room facing away from the road. The receptionist gave us keys for two adjoining rooms (no other family rooms were available) to look at. We were surprised to find that these rooms were also facing the road so no better! We were also expecting a swimming pool/spa and very disappointed to hear that despite being called the Lucan Spa Hotel, there were actually no spa facilities or pool. This is clearly misleading. On a more positive note, our room was clean and the majority of the staff were friendly. However, when we returned to the hotel one evening after a day out, a male receptionist questioned whether we were residents in a rather rude manner. We didn't eat at the hotel except for breakfast which was rather poor in quality and choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHarris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucanspahotel, Manager at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear HHarris0n,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay.

I would like to discuss your stay in further detail and would appreciate it if you could email me at colganu@lucanspahotel.ie.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan
Marketing Manager,
The Lucan Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    74
    69
    44
    42
See reviews for
66
85
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We live right by the Spa Hotel. We had a wonderful meal there last night in the restaurant.
Love the old style deco interior with crisp linen table cloths and napkins. Fabulous 4 course Spring Menu for €19.99. Great service, excellent food and a wonderful selection of vegetables. The owner is always present and checked that our meal was good at our table. The Spa is like stepping back in time and is a real gem. Well done to all.

Room Tip: We didn't stay. Meal in restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trafdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucanspahotel, Manager at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Trafdell,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal in The Hanora D' Restaurant.

Our Spring menu has been very popular and I am delighted you enjoyed the value and quality of the menu.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The Lucan Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed 1 night. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxed, and most of the staff was extremely helpful and polite. We were surprised that our friends could not come to our room the next morning, but there were lots of sofas and chairs scattered around. The hotel even found us a quiet spot to play trad music w our new friends.
The food was very good but a little expensive, and there was definitely not enough wait staff. The single waitress was run ragged trying to take care of everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucanspahotel, Manager at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Grayll,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your kind words on our friendly staff and I am delighted to read we were able to assist in finding a spot for you to play some music.

In relation to our guest policy, for safety reasons and comfort of our guests, we would only allow those guests who are staying to enter the bedrooms upstairs. I hope this policy did not affect you too negatively.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The Lucan Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed in the Lucan spa hotel last summer in July, I though I was getting a very good deal but I was wrong. On arrival we went to the reception and the receptionist looked at us and continued chatting with her friend for a further 10 mins. The room was very basic with terrible décor and the bathroom door was broken.
We booked dinner in the restaurant, there was one person servicing and she was not at all friendly, she gave us the menus and on return she grunted what do yous want not even looking at us.
I got the pork with mushroom sauce which wasn't edible and the sauce was just pure cream which split. The waitress left us sitting with our finished dinner plates for over 45 mins while the waitress stood chatting to the people next us. Dinner ended up taking 2 and half hours.

Room Tip: `Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007laura007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucanspahotel, Manager at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear 007laura007,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

I will investigate the items you mentioned and take the appropriate action of remedy. Since your stay, we have a brand new head chef here and we have changed all food menus in the hotel, and have received much better feedback as a result.

We hope your experience will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The Lucan Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucan hotels

Kildare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had our wedding in The Lucan Spa, last weekend and am so happy, all our guests loved their stay and everyone had an absolute ball.

This famly run hotel goes above and beyond to look after their guests, all of the team are so professional and dedicated to your big day, even the owner servered our guests and insured everyone was happy.

If your looking for a wedding venue go meet Claire and have a look, you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucanspahotel, Manager at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Amanda and Hugh,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor for the hotel. We are delighted you had a brilliant day. Thank you very much for your kind words on your day.

It was a pleasure hosting you and your guests for your day and I wish you and Hugh the very best for the future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The Lucan Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked a single room on short notice during a very busy weekend. Room was ok, but there was an exhauster on my room from the kitchen, making just my room noisy. Staff was very friendly and polite, sorting everything out, walking with me to the room etc.

Room Tip: the noisy room was on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucanspahotel, Manager at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Willem R,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lucan Spa Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are currently looking into the issue with the noise you experienced in your bedroom, and will make every effort to minimise this for future guests.

Thank you for your kind words on our team of staff here. We try and make every effort to create a homely atmosphere for our guests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The Lucan Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for three nights, we came to Ireland for the six nations rugby. We very much enjoyed our stay although this hotel is a taxi journey into Dublin, it costs about 25 euro each way. The rooms are a bit out dated and the bar does not stay open past 12. Breakfast is lovely, staff were friendly. Would stay again. X

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucanspahotel, Manager at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Naomi B,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lucan Spa Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our breakfast meals and friendly staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our family hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The Lucan Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
1.3 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
1.6 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
4.2 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucan Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucan Spa Hotel

Property: Lucan Spa Hotel
Address: Junction 4A | N4 Westbound, Lucan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucan Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Lucan Spa Hotel is located on the N4, just off the M50, 15 minutes’ from Dublin Airport and 20 minutes’ from Dublin city centre.The Lucan Spa Hotel offers spacious and comfortable rooms. These luxurious rooms all have en suite bathrooms and satellite TV. Wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.The Earl Bistro serves breakfast in the morning and a lunchtime carvery menu. The charming Hanora D Restaurant has an evening a la carte menu, whilst The Ballynetty Bar offers bar food.A wide range of amenities including a cinema, shopping centres, a swimming pool, canoeing and golf are all only a short distance from The Lucan Spa Hotel.The Lucan Spa Hotel has become one of the most exclusive wedding venues in Ireland since its recent transformation. The magnificent new Boyne Suite is a spectacular venue for your perfect day, providing a stunning setting for you and your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lucan Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucan Hotel Lucan
Lucan Spa Hotel Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing