We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value- friendly staff”

The Peacock Lucan Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 28 Restaurants in Lucan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Value- friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The menu was expansive and the food excellent, the friendly and helpful staff were a bonus. The restaurant is situated at the Finnstown Country House Hotel and is well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner Under Victorian Charm”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Peacock Lucan Restaurant is set inside the Finnstown Country House Hotel. It was beautiful set with formal white linen table clothes but is the ceiling that will catch your eye - beautiful Victorian plasterwork. We chose an "early dinner" prior to 7:30pm taking advantage of a two course special value. It was special with excellent food, good wine, attentive service and charming staff. We would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Staff”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We eat from the Early Bird menu at €20 for 2 courses. There was plenty of choice and the food was good. The restaurant was full on our visit.
The staff are very helpful and friendly.
Would I eat there again...definately yes

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnM06022011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very medicore food”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The food was very average with over-cooked vegtables. Particularly disappointed that they could not serve steak cooked as requested, medium rear & medium both being the exact same ! Generally very disappointed

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomasLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant disaster”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Went here last night with a group of 7 to celebrate a 30 & 31st Birthday. Was ask was it a special occasion at the beginning as we sat at the table. They made it a special night that we will NEVER forget. Starters burnt spring rolls. Main course fillet steaks had no taste. One fillet steak came out as a sirloin with sauce so twenty minutes later it arrive back to our table. We had a 3 1/2year old with us who only wanted a burger and chips he eventually got this when we had all finished our meals. Have been a customer for twenty years but will never go back after the shambles you made of two birthday celebrations.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peacock Lucan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Peacock Lucan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing