We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great function, good accommodation”
Review of Citywest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citywest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Hillingdon
1 review
“Great function, good accommodation”
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Stayed two nights attending an awards function in Feb. All aspects of our stay were well above average. The do itself, breakfasts, dinner in the reataurant on the second night and the bar all night. Good service considering the scale of the place.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    622
    450
    232
    173
See reviews for
510
497
49
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sale
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We celebrated my Mother's 60th birthday last weekend and could not have been more looked after.

We had superior rooms in the Palmerston wing which we didn't expect and the rooms were fantastic, clean and modern mixed with old, fantastic combination.

Food in the Bistro, mouth-watering!

The hotel is amazing, a large thanks to Alan (in the Burgandy Mercedes)who became our Private Chauffeur and guide over the weekend. Even to
tracking down Silvermints for our children!

Friendly atmosphere, Charley Pride was playing at the hotel and you wouldn't have guessed that so many people were in the hotel at the same time. The
security was very smooth & well organised.

Can't wait to return, with husband the next time so he can enjoy the golf!

I book a fair amount of hotels to Dublin City Centre but cannot compare with quality and value that we received at this hotel. Sorry Dublin, you have lost out to Citywest who I shall be
booking from now on.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SaleTravelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

We stayed in Citywest for a night and enjoyed our lovely room even though the mattress was very hard. This hotel is too large for personal attention,so expect nothing.
Reception was very friendly and we didn't have to wait too long although the que was long.
The main lobby was very busy with many funcitions, wedding, ball, 21st, sports events and birthday parties. Our room was really nice, everything we needed for an over night stay but NO WATER, which was very disappointing.
Breakfast dinig area was far too busy, I felt like I was in JFK airport, massive plasma screen t.v's and plenty of them, we just couldn't relax so we ate and left, no reason to stay. No comp morning papers, what a pity.
This hotel is clean, friendly and has grounds.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — inpersonnel
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lightfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Co. Down
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

I stayed at this hotel 8th-10th Feb 08; we were bought a weekend break as a Xmas present. Check in was fairly quick.
Room: we were given an upgraded room in the newly developed ground floor section that had a king size bed, jacuzzi bath and flat screen TV. The room was very clean and the only thing I would say was wrong with it was that the bed was made up of 2 queen size mattresses. My husband picked the right side of the bed and had great sleep all weekend; on my side the springs had completely gone and it was like sleeping in a bowl. The room was quiet and we didn't hear any noise from other guests. We didn't experience any of the water temperature problems as highlighted in other reviews on this site.

Food: Breakfast was great - a wide selection of cereals, fruit salads, pastries and the traditional fry. On the Saturday night there was a show on at the hotel (we didn't see it), but this meant that in comparison to the Saturday morning when we could sit where we liked at breakfast, on Sunday we had to sit at the same table as other people as it was really busy. This could be avoided if you go down a bit earlier for breakfast. We ate at the Hibernian Bistro both nights and found the food and service excellent.

Pool: There weren't enough locks for the pool lockers so I had to leave my handbag with the receptionist; I didn't mind this but other people might. The pool itself is lovely - there were only about 6 other people in it when we went on the Friday night about 5pm.

Overall, I thought this was excellent, apart from the bed, which staff must notice when they're changing the sheets, as the dip was clearly visible.

  • Liked — Stunning setting and very clean
  • Disliked — Bad bed - my spine looks like a curly wurly!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BangorJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

My wife and I attended a recent awards ceremony at this hotel which was attended by about 1,000 people. It's located beside a large business park, and there is really nothing located nearby. There's plenty of parking, although some of the parking is a fair distance from the hotel.

When we arrived at 3:30pm, check-in was prompt. We had a room in the Palmerstown wing, and it's a goodly distance to walk as it is really in a different block from the main reception. On our way to the room, we met a collegue and he informed us that he had been unable to shower thus far, as there was no cold water. We thought it strange that we hadn't been told at reception, and also imagined the rush for showers once the water was made available again. Luckily by 4:45, the water was back, but as expected, the hot water lasted less than 10 minutes as everybody tried to take a shower at the same time. From previous reviews, it seems that plumbing in this hotel isn't the best feature. My own personal gripe is that the shower was made for people of less that 5 feet 6 inches (1.7 metres) in height and since I'm 6'2" (1.88 metres), I ended up having to painfully crouch for my hot->luke warm->cool shower.

This was the low point though - everything else was pretty much as you'd expect. The hosting of the ceremony was very professional, the staff were attentive and polite, and the food at the event was truly excellent and far better than what we expected for such a large event. Some of the table staff tended to be very over-zealous with topping up wine glasses, but this seems a minor point given the organization that went into the event.

We didn't try any of the leisure facilities.

Overall, it met our expectations on what to expect. Don't go expecting pampering or luxury or good transport links into Dublin. Do go if you expect a functioning hotel with a good standard of rooms, food, etc.

  • Liked — Free internet access
  • Disliked — The poor showering experience
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

I stayed here recently with a work conference, there were about 700 of us staying and the hotel could not cope despite calling itself a conference centre.
The hotel is quite far from the centre so don't use it if you want to spend a lot of time in the centre as it takes an hour each way to get into the centre (due to horrendous traffic on the route).

The conference side of things was actually quite good with very good food and service.
However the rooms left an awful lot to be desired. We stayed four nights and did not have hot water during the entire stay! The hotels excuse was that everyone was taking showers at the same time (isn't this what happens at conferences?!?)
when i complained they were totally disinterested and suggested i go and shower in the gym!
The room was permanently dark and had no lighting except lamps which were inadequate for putting on your makeup in the morning and evening. In addition to the lack of hot water, the bathroom was absolutely freezing with no heater/radiator.
the bed sloped to one side and i felt like i was rolling out at times.

I couldn't wait to get out of this hotel and hope never to return.

  • Liked — the food was good
  • Disliked — no hot water in rooms and staff couldnt care less about this.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicks_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saggart hotels

Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We traveled to Dublin last September for the Football Final in croke Park and stayed at the City West Hotel. We have stayed there many times before and have found in recent times that the basic maintenence and service is on a downward slope. Our experience was poor first of all in the restaurant with our table being given away even though we had arrived at the booking time. Once we eventually got a table we waited 1.5 hours for our main course. The following morning we queued for three quarters of an hour to get into the breakfast room and a further half hour to get our breakfast.
The leisure centre there is also in poor shape with dirty showers and steam room.
On the golf course our golf cart packed up half way through our round of golf.
On the up side the bedrooms are very good.

  • Liked — Bedrooms
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Buckleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saggart
1.5 mi away
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Clondalkin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
3.3 mi away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Green Isle Hotel Conference & Leisure
3.8 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
#2 of 4 in Tallaght
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citywest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citywest Hotel

Property: Citywest Hotel
Address: Garters Lane on the N7, Saggart, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Saggart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citywest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb location in South Dublin puts you in easy reach of everything from Dublin city centre and airport, each of which is a mere 25 minutes away, to the hills of Wicklow and the plains of Kildare. We even have a Luas light-rail stop on our doorstep, which will take you to the city centre in just 30 minutes. It's the perfect place for a relaxing city break and with Ireland's largest choice of conference space, it is the perfect place for your conference, meeting or special occasion. Whatever brings you here, you'll find everything you need on site - a leisure centre with 20 metre pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and an 18 hole golf course designed by the late Christy O'Connor Junior. The newly renovated Woodlock Brasserie and Swift Bars are also available on site for all dining requirements as well as complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citywest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure & Golf Hotel Saggart
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure And Golf Resort
Citywest Hotel Dublin
Citywest Resort Dublin
Citywest Hotel County Dublin/Saggart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing