We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in dublin”
Review of Citywest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citywest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in dublin”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Every hotel my family and I stay in we always compare it to this one and none lives up to it. It is a fantastic family hotel, they have movie nights for kids and a games room to keep them occupied. The rooms are always immaculate and the food is always to a high standard. The staff are great and are always happy to help and offer suggestions for things to do in Dublin. I have recommended this hotel to a few fiends and they all had high praise for it.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms can be noiser than other floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitywestHotelDublin, Front Office Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!!

We were absolutely delighted to have had the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and thank for your lovely comments regarding our team. We at Citywest love to hear that our guests have enjoyed the facilities we provide and I will be sure to circulate your feedback to the staff.

On your next visit to Dublin I would like to invite you to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you with any future bookings.

Once again, thank you for you lovely review.

Kind Regards,
Gemma Kavanagh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    621
    450
    231
    173
See reviews for
509
497
49
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Huge hotel, efficient but impersonal. Vending machines dotted around the corridors. Use of the swimming pool must be booked in advance. Seems to be aiming for family staycations, lots of kids running around. Not my kind of place, no atmosphere at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsDKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitywestHotelDublin, Front Office Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre and for taking the time to share your experience.

I was sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and you found Citywest impersonal. Our team will be disappointed to hear that on this occassion our customer service skills did not leave a lasting impression.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further and would be grateful if you would contact me directly either by email marketing@citywesthotel.com or by dialing the hotel direct.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Gemma Kavanagh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an excellent and very large hotel. Everywhere was visually pleasing. My room was good sized for a single person and there was a pleasant feeling of luxury. Everything was well thought out and I can find nothing to criticise at all. The dining room was very large but the service was so professional that there were never any queues. The tables were tastefully laid out and the food was good to look at and tasty.
it was raining when I was there but I did walk around the most interesting grounds. The lake and the fountain were a feature and I liked the statues near the front entrance.
This is a hotel I will come back to if at all possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitywestHotelDublin, Front Office Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Citywest Hotel.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about the location and the service you received in the dining room.

On your next trip to Dublin I would like to invite you to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you with your reservation. I look forward to hearing from you,

Warm Regards,
Gemma Kavanagh,
Front of Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was at this hotel for a family funeral. We had food from the carvery, which was very good, and then partook of copious amounts of falling-down water whilst having some Craic with the family many of whom I hadn't seen for years. The atmosphere was very good particularly for such a large hotel mainly because the space was divided up into small friendly bars and rooms.
The hotel room was exceptional as it was furnished with standalone pieces that you would find in a house rather than the standard hotel fixtures. I really liked the high level cistern in the bathroom too.
On the downside, the corridors all looked alike so quite a few people got lost, the breakfast was pretty average and it was a long trek from the hotel room to the reception, even when we didn't get lost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitywestHotelDublin, Front Office Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Citywest Hotel. It was a delight to read your comments, especially about the atmosphere in the bar. It is our goal at The Citywest Hotel to create a friendly, warm and welcoming experience for each guest to experience. I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast to our Head Chef as all feedback is important.

On your next trip please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be a pleasure to assist you with a reservation.

Warm Regards,
Gemma Kavanagh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have stayed at Citywest on quite a number of occasions of past couple of years with my daughter at Irish Dancing events.

The hotel itself is beautiful, with outstanding rooms and facilities. The staff will go out of their way to assist you with any needs. We did on one occasions unfortunately had a not so good room and we were upgraded for our next stay to a suite. Then once again the bed we had was a little old and maybe still had the shape of a few bodies in it... this was changed immediately - not only was the mattress changed, but the whole bed for new!

Apart from that everything was brilliant - we dined at the Lemongrass Restaurant - beautiful food - would definitely recommend it and quite reasonably priced too.

Hotel only round the corner from Luas station - which is reasonably priced and takes you straight into Dublin City Centre.

Room Tip: Definately get a suite - well worth it - dont go 5th floor - quite noisey with air con unit Palmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitywestHotelDublin, Front Office Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your lovely review. We were absolutely delighted to have had the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel.

Our team will be happy to hear that you found our customer service skills to be so effective. When we come across issues we like to ensure that we do everything possible to make our guests stay with us as comfortable as possible.

I am sure we will be welcoming you back very soon. Again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Gemma Kavanagh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly, although our room was clean it was not of a great standard friends of ours had a much nicer modern room in another part of the hotel although can't really complain as we got a reasonable rate.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitywestHotelDublin, Front Office Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre and for taking the time to share your experience. We strive everyday to exceed our guest's expectations and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We offer several different standards of rooms here at Citywest Hotel, I would be happy to allocate you to one of our Superior Rooms on any future bookings you have.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Kind Regards
Gemma Kavanagh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife was attending a conference at the City West Hotel so we decided to book online for a one night stay. This was the first time we stayed here so I booked with an open mind.the check in went smoothly and efficiently and the room itself was first class. It was good to see that there was a courtesy car to the Lemongrass restaurant, it's just a pity there wasn't one to our room because it was further away from reception than the restaurant. This is probably to be expected given the size of the complex and not really a complaint but if you have any mobility issues request a room close to the hotel reception. All the staff were friendly and accommodating at all times. There were just a few little things that would have made our stay that little bit better.
1. WiFi in our room. I know from reading other reviews on Tripadvisor that this is a common complaint and that plans are in place to rectify this but I think a definite date should be decided for implementation, this problem seems to dragging on. In this super communication age it is a pity that a hotel of this standing does not have this facility.
2. Now for a very easily remedied request, complimentary bottles of water in the rooms. As in most hotels this is standard but seemingly not in the City West, which is a pity. Yes there are vending machines available close to reception but by the time I realised there was no complimentary water in the room it was midnight and I had to walk all the way back to reception it also cost €2 per bottle and a midnight craving for a packet of Tatyo crisps at €1.50.
3 Finally the last little thing, it would be great if there was a little map available of the complex and the surrounding area, it would be most helpful.

Overall apart from the little niggles as outlined above, staying at the City West Hotel was a pleasant experience and I will return.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems request a room near reception..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBADTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitywestHotelDublin, Front Office Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Citywest Hotel, Dublin.

Our team will be delighted to hear the nice comments regarding your check in and your allocated room. I am pleased that you dined in the the fantastic Lemongrass Restaurant and took advantage of the courtesy car.

With reference to the WIFI, you have seen that it is something we are hoping to introduce very soon, we understand that it is now a necessity in all hotels. I will also speak to the Concierge regarding a map for the local area. All of the points you mentioned in your feedback will be discussed going forward.

I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Gemma Kavanagh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saggart
1.5 mi away
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Clondalkin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
3.3 mi away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Green Isle Hotel Conference & Leisure
3.8 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
#2 of 4 in Tallaght
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citywest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citywest Hotel

Property: Citywest Hotel
Address: Garters Lane on the N7, Saggart, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Saggart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citywest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb location in South Dublin puts you in easy reach of everything from Dublin city centre and airport, each of which is a mere 25 minutes away, to the hills of Wicklow and the plains of Kildare. We even have a Luas light-rail stop on our doorstep, which will take you to the city centre in just 30 minutes. It's the perfect place for a relaxing city break and with Ireland's largest choice of conference space, it is the perfect place for your conference, meeting or special occasion. Whatever brings you here, you'll find everything you need on site - a leisure centre with 20 metre pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and an 18 hole golf course designed by the late Christy O'Connor Junior. The newly renovated Woodlock Brasserie and Swift Bars are also available on site for all dining requirements as well as complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citywest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure & Golf Hotel Saggart
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure And Golf Resort
Citywest Hotel Dublin
Citywest Resort Dublin
Citywest Hotel County Dublin/Saggart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing