We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find”
Review of Blue Bar

Blue Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Skerries
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Visiting from Australia and caught Ireland on a sunny day. After a stroll around the harbour we came across Blue Bar for lunch. A friendly, contemporary cafe/bar that was reasonably priced with good food. We had homemade chowder that was bursting with flavour fresh from the sea, the ploughmans lunch had tasty cheese, meat and condiments and the spicy buffalo wings which went well with the aioli - delightful, but go hungry as there were lots of them. If you manage to eat alfresco, there are great views overlooking the harbour. Staff are helpful and friendly. Overall a nice find and well recommended, I couldn't have spent a more relaxing pleasant day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    182
    108
    65
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab food but dont get comfy!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Visited blue last week with friends, had just sat down when we were told if we were not having food we may have to move from the table we were at! Nice welcoming. We were however ordering food which I have to say was fab. After spending few hrs and quiet a bit of money we were asked to move as the table was needed. The bar was full at this stage so really was no where else for us to sit unless we went upstairs which was empty. Was very disappointed as we were having a really good time but was dampened by having to move and so we decided to leave. Really think this needs to be addressed by blue management. May be good idea to put a time limit on tables and make people aware that they will be asked to move and not to get too comfortable!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“NICE VIEW IF YOU CAN GET A SEAT”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My second time here and my first time to eat.
Lovely location on the pier at Skerries and the sun was shining.
Internally I liked the decor; the staff looked very rushed even though it was not busy, just after the lunchtime when we visited; our waitress was somewhat brusque in her manner.

The choice of food is good; expensive for what is a ''posh fast'' food establishment - it may be considered trendy locally but not for me.

Food average - the type of place where you want to be seen or perhaps need to be seen !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosslareharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best bar food in Dublin”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have been going here for a few years now and honestly have tried everything on the menu. The food is brilliant. Lovely crowd too and you will do well to see the place empty. Top class chicken wings and their platters are worth a try aswell.

I have one slight concern.They have launched a new menu which is pretty much the same but a bit dearer. I hate when places do this i.e, dilute themselves by expanding and over pricing things. I hope they don't get ahead of themselves because as things stand, this place is a goldmine!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CianDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Permanent Buzz”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I live near Blue and know that it is incredibly popular. Easy to see why. The menu is extensive with something for everyone, there is a variety of micro-atmospheres to choose from inside, the staff is second to none. Our favourite place to eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Bar also viewed

Skerries, County Dublin
Skerries, County Dublin
 
Skerries, County Dublin
 

Been to Blue Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing