We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Night .. Best Dinner”
Review of Blue Bar

Blue Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Skerries
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“1st Night .. Best Dinner”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

After our arrival into Dublin we drove north to find a place to stay which was in Ballbriggan. We were told if we didnt mind a little drive .. we should try the Blue Bar in Skerries. After 5-8 Miles we found tge Blue Bar situated on the water. Very nice and prices were very reasonable. After traveling zireland for 2 weeks this was one of the best.

Menu
http://mobile.menupages.ie/Dublin/north_dublin/skerries/blue_cafe_bar/menu

Website
Bluebar.ie

Helpful?
1 Thank Flylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    179
    103
    65
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good hearty fare”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a big modern inviting bar restaurant with a lovely atmosphere. The menu is extensive; food is really good; service is top notch. There are also al fresco tables which are highly prized in summer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, undercooked, overrated”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went there as I had heard very good things about the place... But it most definitely did not live to expectations... Special of the day was served undercooked and cold... At 24 euro it was also quite a small serving (which really did not matter as it was not eaten anyways!). Service was slow and all over the place (Missing glasses, cutlery, taking plates away too soon)... Will not go back...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveMySleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food service ok ”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I ate here last weekend couldn't beat the food but it was to busy for tye service staff waited abit but didnt mind

Helpful?
1 Thank foody123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Frequent diner, always pleased”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you're in Skerries, be sure to get to a large but friendly eaterie, Blue bar. Always professional, Blue overlooks Skerries harbour, with views that go from fresh and breezy daytimes to twinkling lights on the sea at night.

This particular visit was a Tuesday evening. The place was hopping with a mixed clientele wanting to sample the full bar, delicious hot food, teas and coffees that an excellent staff deliver promptly. On this occasion, my server was friendly, capable, knowledgeable, and professional. With tea, I enjoyed a huge Sticky Toffee pudding with extra caramel sauce and ice-cream on the side. I usually enjoy the extremely generous Ploughman's lunch - a fresh and generous plate of cold meat, cheese, relish, delicate pickled onions, and a salad garnish, all served with a few slices of thickly-cut brown bread. Super-fresh, super-filling, super-tasty.

However, I have enjoyed most of the dishes and have always found great flavour, quality, and value for money. I dine in Blue bar every couple of months for three years now - lunches, evening meals, with kids, and without. Time after time, the hardworking staff never fail to bring out beautiful starters, mains and desserts - even if you're in for a quick cuppa or a pint, this place is a gem!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kramernic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Bar also viewed

Skerries, County Dublin
Skerries, County Dublin
 
Skerries, County Dublin
 
Skerries, County Dublin
Skerries, County Dublin
 

Been to Blue Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing