We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
303
29
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
29
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour masterirish seagreat hostsfresh fruitbed and breakfastsea viewwhite cottagehome from homeshort walktrain stationcooked breakfastirish breakfasttea and coffeeirelandpubs
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I can only endorse all the previous views that have been written - great location, lovely views, nice rooms and very friendly hosts. We were also lucky enough to have sunny weather which meant we could enjoy afternoon tea and breakfast on the terrace facing the sea which is a fairly unique event in Ireland.

Jess's tea was one of the highlight's for us - freshly made sandwiches with some great home baked scones and cakes. Rooms have fabulous views (Captains & Old Harbour Master) and are nicely decorated and furnished. Jackie and Joe are great hosts who go the extra mile to make sure you are happy - nothing seems to be too much bother.

The location is particularly good for watching birds on the coast and there are binoculars and a book available plus Joe can answer any questions you may have. Finally the dog - just like the hosts - very friendly and great fun. I would add that Jackie and Joe do try to make sure the dog is kept away from the main guest areas so if you do have a problem with dogs then don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: Captain's Room an d Old Harbour master's rooms are more expensive but worth the money for the views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

On a warm sunny Monday afternoon we had Jessica's afternoon tea sitting out side at the waters edge of The White Cottages. Jessica is a young bright intelligent girl who loves to bake. Jessica's afternoon tea is one of the best for home bakeing ,freshness, value at €17.50per head €4.00 for a glass of prosecco. The afternoon tea is well presented on a three tier cake stand with a selection of sandwiches, savoury biscuits with salmon mousse, scones with jam and cream, carrot cake to die for,rose water shortbread, chocolate covered strawberries, part of your five a day forget that they are dipped with chocolate enjoy and as much tea or coffee as you would like. The setting is stunning as you are out on the portico over looking the sea and Jessica has a little soft back ground music playing. Would highly recommend to make a booking for the afternoon tea and sit back take in the view and the sea air while enjoying Jessica's delights. This is one of the best afternoon tea's around even compared to the top five star hotels.

BC.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Benmadigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were initially looking for a location near Dublin airport because we had an early pick-up. Not knowing the area we found The White Cottages thru tripadvisor. We could not have been more happy with the choice. True, the cost is a bit higher than many others, but the location cannot be beat as it sits, literally, right on the waterfront at Skerries harbor. There are only a few rooms, so they fill up fast. The rooms are very well appointed, and extremely clean and well maintained. There is a common deck area perched right at the waterside with tables for relaxing or eating. Their breakfast was great. There are also many restaurants within walking distance or a short drive. But, the best parts are the owners. Jackie and Joe are the best! Joe is a life long resident of the area and he would be a wealth of info if required. Both are very personable and friendly without being intrusive. You will feel most welcome and appreciated. I could not recommend this B&B more highly and would stay there again if in that area.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms so not much to suggest. We had the Harbormaster Room which probably has the best view, but all have a good view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to use as a base on our recent outing. Found a gem of a hideaway. We stayed for 2nites. The accommodation, food, facilities and kindness shown by Jackie, Joe and Jessica were fantastic!!! The views from the cottage are breath taking, words could not describe. Breakfast and lobster lunch uber delish! The only slight problem is our daily hot shower, which is not enough hot water to share between the two of us but that is easy fix. In the past I was never a big fan of B&B due to intrusive host but not with The White Cottage. We will definitely come back and recommend it to our friends and family :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchess_Smurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I only regret..I could stay just one night! This is a great B&B, excellent managed, so comfortable and with great view. We woke up and had a walk on the seaside (you only have a few steps from the bedroom, you ARE on the seaside!) watching the lobster boats...Then breakfast, you can't miss it, simply delicious. I strongly recommend The White Cottages for a short break, a romantic weekend (perfect!), families with children, a strategic stop during your Ireland tour (perfect location). To the owners: keep on like this, you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanelbullar_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews