We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and unique location close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skerries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Cottages
Ranked #1 of 7 Skerries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great and unique location close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the White Cottages to be close to Skerries town and it's lovely harbour - all within easy walking distance. Also close to family and friends during our July visit to Skerries in Ireland. Joe and Jackie O'Connor proved to be the perfect hosts. We had booked into the Harbour Master room for an extended stay of 14 nights. Our initial impression was how lacking in privacy our room was going to be. However the joy of our location with its more than 180 degree uninterrupted view of the harbour around to the Mountains of Mourne and the Cooley mountains soon dispelled such minor considerations. Our stay was highlighted by being made to feel like one of the family and enjoying the company of their new young Border Collie Cassie. The breakfasts every morning were a joy and set us up for each day. A wonderful and unique stay and sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skerrioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
167
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed a two night stay here and it couldn't have been better. The welcome, the room, sitting on the terrace, playing with the friendly collie dog. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and our hosts were kind enough to cook me porridge exactly how I cook it at home, and it was amazing. We were made to feel totally at home. Quite simply the best.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is our second time at white cottagers made to feel most welcome on arrivel lovely food cooked fresh every day
great location joe and jackie welcoming as ever lovely clean rooms sea views are amazing d lovely walks along the sea front lots of placers to eat and visit
nothing is to much trouble for the hosts

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with our son and grandson, so that we could have a day together in Dublin before they flew back to the USA.
What a find ! Well looked after, excellent breakfast. A lovely walk by the sea into the village for evening meals. Super rooms looking out to sea. With those rocks to play on as well, our grandson - from the middle of USA - was thrilled by his seaside adventure. Easy train ride into Dublin (and a lift to the station as well, much appreciated) & the airport is easy to get to.
The weather was simply stunning.
The stay couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted a couple of chill-out days close to Dublin and opted for the White Cottages rather than a hotel. In short - a great choice. Ok - our room was small and didn't have a sea view but all of this was explained when we booked so no issues there. It is a special place, with great restaurants and pubs with music within 10 mins walk. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just back from the White Cottages, would highly recommend it. It's a really special place and the view is amazing. We stayed in The Harbourmaster. Which has almost uninterrupted views of the sea. The room is beautifully decorated, one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. Breakfast the next morning was really lovely and fresh. It was such a nice touch having herbs from the garden and freshly cut fruit on the table. My only reservation about staying again is that although the room is amazing, you don't get to enjoy it fully as it feels very public as there are people passing over and back all the time. I don't know how you could achieve more privacy, but I think it would make it extra special!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75JaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

For my first trip (and now all other trips) to Ireland, The White Cottages is the perfect place to start and finish the journey - especially as it is close to the Dublin airport yet far away in atmosphere due to its amazing location. The best cure for jet lag is to sit on the guest terrace looking out across the sea, sipping some tea and watching a variety of birds and water sports. The entire O'Connor family make you feel welcome, relaxed and well cared for, and the well made breakfast will carry you through most of the day. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendragray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skerries
3.2 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
10.6 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
9.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
15.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cottages

Property: The White Cottages
Address: The White Cottages Balbriggan Road, Skerries, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Skerries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Skerries
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The White Cottages Hotel Skerries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing