We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like we where in heaven”
Review of The White Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skerries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Skerries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stayed with these fantastic people for 5 days myself and my husband.
The best b and b we ever stayed in. The food was amasing and felt so at home loved all the little extra touches.
We have travelled all over the world and the views from every room in this house would take your breath away. Great value for money. have already booked again for august. dont forget your swim suit as you can jump from bed straight into the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2009

My self and my partner stayed in The White Cottages from Thrusday until Sunday. We flew in from England in the afternoon and had a very quick and easy journey from the airport. We were greeted on our arrival by Jackie O'Connor, who made us feel very welcome. We were shown to our room, which had wonderful views directly out on to the sea. The room was beautifully decoriated with crisp white linen. The breakfast and lounge area was very tasteful and had a lovely beach feel to it. The weather wasn't great during our stay but the heating from the burner in the lounge made you feel very cosy and comfortable looking out to the sea. Breakfast was excellent with a varied choice and a very relaxed atmosphere. Skerries is a beautiful town with wonderful places to see and enjoyable walks either on the sea front or around Ardgillian Castle. Jackie and her family were very welcoming through out our stay without being intrusive. They gave us some lovely suggestions on where to eat locally and places to see. The seafood is to die for in Stoop Your Heads on the Harbour. We can't wait to go back this year in the summer and hopefully we will have some sunshine to perfect our holiday. I would recommend anybody to stay at the White Cottages for the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TXavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed there over the holidays and loved it. We have stayed at other inns/B&Bs in Skerries before and would rank this as the best, by far. The view is the best there is and the rooms clean and comfortable. The breakfast was also delicious.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank CusterSociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed at White Cottages during Christmas and really enjoyed it.The views are stunning , great service,rooms are very comfortable and well appointed and the location fantastic .We were part of a group and also had use of the beautiful living space and kitchen which worked really well. I would highly recommend staying there and will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank RealtorDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from Ireland after spending two weeks over Christmas in The White Cottages in Skerries!. We were accompanied by two other couples which included close friends and family. All were unanimous in our praise for this exceptional bed and breakfast. Apart from the location, which is truly stunning, the warmth and hospitality of the owners was second to none.

We arrived in two lots. My sister, boyfriend and I got in on the 18th of December off a very early flight from the States. We were all feeling a little worn out by the time we reached the location but were quickly cheered up by the warm welcome we were given by Jackie and Jock, the owners. We were quickly shown to our rooms which were all ensuite and after taking hot showers went down stairs for a "Full Irish" breakfast. {The brown bread is to die for}. We sat in the bright sun drenched dining room {which was heated by the solid fuel stove in the corner} looking out on the water and were amazed to see a couple of grey seals swim by, practically under our noses! Apart from the seals there were plenty of other wild life including Heron's, Gulls, Curlews and the odd Iglet to name but a few.

As I mentioned the bedrooms were very well appointed, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Jeff and I took the upper one. This has a full bath and it quite spacious. The skylight gave the room an airy feel but was dressed with a black out blind, which meant we could sleep off the jet lag ig we wished without being disturbed by the daylight.

My sister's room had double patio doors which opened out onto the terrace overlooking the rocks and sea below. Her husband is slightly claustrophobic. He was very happy as the view only accentuated the spaciousness and brightness of the bedroom.

The rest of our party arrived on the 23rd. We had booked the whole B& B for the rest of our stay through to the 31st and self catered for the duration of the trip. This worked out very well as the accommodation is completely self contained and separate from the owners residence. Our family live in the area and we had twelve for Christmas dinner on the 25th. We did not however cook the meal there!!! The kitchen being a little small for that task... The Family brought the dishes to us and we were able to manage to bring everything warm to the table!

I know I am gushing a bit about the place, but we are seasoned travellers and have been around the globe and stayed in many celebrated establishments. This was one of the most memorable and enjoyable vacations that I can recall. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Ten out of Ten!

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Mairegf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

If you're looking for spotless accomodations, this may not be the place for you. While the view from the B&B is gorgeous and overall, the accomodations are decent, it was the small details that were missing from this experience. The sheets had holes, the towels were not the cleanest and the shower pressure was low. Breakfast was a nice continental style.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I am delighted to have the opportunity to recommend the White Cottages in Skerries to you. We stayed for three nights at the end of August this year and slept in the delightful Crows Nest room.
Their website photos are very accurate, but our expectations were more than excelled. Fresh, clean uplifting decor surrounded by beautiful mesmerizing views of the sea. We were even greeted one morning by a visit from the promised seals.

The breakfast is delicious, hearty and substantial. Staying with the O'Connors is like being with your favourite relations (only better!).

In fact, if you are not delighted with the accommodation 'I'll give you your money back!'

Mary Mura & family.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Derryham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skerries
3.2 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
796 reviews
15.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,104 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,609 reviews
10.2 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
364 reviews
12.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cottages

Address: The White Cottages Balbriggan Road, Skerries, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Skerries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Skerries
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The White Cottages Hotel Skerries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing