We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Cottages
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
303
29
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
29
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour masterirish seagreat hostsfresh fruitbed and breakfastsea viewwhite cottagehome from homeshort walktrain stationcooked breakfastirish breakfasttea and coffeeirelandpubs
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2009

My wife and i stopped for four nights at The White Cottages. The owners Jackie and Jo were charming hosts and full of suggestions as to where we should visit. Their dog Hollie is well behaved and generally is not allowed in the guest quarters, although occasionally she would wander in to check us out! Our room, The Captains, had patio doors that opened direct on to a patio. It must be lovely in the warm weather sitting outside with a glass or two of wine watching the sea. In November it is freezing cold!! Our heating in the room went on the blink but armed with various tools Jo and I managed to fix it without the assistance of a plumber!!

Our Breakfast was cooked from fresh and mostly to order. i ordered scrambled eggs and smoked salmon but for three mornings received eggs, bacon and tomatoes. I did not complain as they were delicious! The fourth morning I got my scrambled eggs and salmon, and that to was delicious. My wife said that her Greek yogurt with fresh fruit was also delicious. In addition to these three choices, there were muesli, cornflakes, toast and bread. There are several pubs and restaurants in the small village but after the first night, due to my wife's health, we went to the local shop (Gerry's) in the main street and bought a selections of items from their deli. In particular the ham was first class!

During the day we visited Newgrange Burial Site that was constructed over 5,000 years ago. This predates the Pyramids, contrary to what I was taught at school. A visit to Skerries Mills was also worth while and the guide on our guided tour for two, extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Slane Abbey near to Slane is also worth a visit.

I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone wanting a good first class stay in a wonderful location with attentive friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This is our second time at the white cottages, and we will
come back many other times, for sure.
Lovely bed and breakfast, wonderful guests (Jackie and Jo) with their lovely family
and their adorable dog Hollie, you can really feel at home.
it is very close to the airport (only 30 min.) close to Dublin city center also.
welcome aboard, you too.............

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed at The White Cottages our last night in Ireland as it was close (30 minutes) to the airport and we wanted to stay in a small, seaside town. The White Cottages is right on the water and the town of Skerries is very nice. Don't miss the crab and prawns at The Stoop Your Head and the coal fire at Nealons pub. Can't comment on the hosts as they were away while we were there and we were greated by a friend and never saw anyone again. Also can't comment on the breakfast, as per above.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Gorgeous Views! Wonderful Hosts. Great breakfast!
Immaculate, beautiful decor. Loved the lounge with kitchenette just for the guests with french doors out to the deck that is right on the water! Our last evening with the full moon - Mountains of Mourne to the left, the lights of Skerries to the right, sailboats bobbing in the water, seals playing around the rocks - Heavenly. Jacque's paintings are lovely too.
Only negative was the bed was against the wall and one of us was forced to climb over the other to get out of bed. Even so would and will stay again and again and just hope they never go out of business!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celticfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The B&B is really beautiful, you couldn´t stay in a house closer to the sea, and the village is nice, with a small fishing harbour and with all the commerce you may need.
Rooms are neat, and the breakfast is abundant and diverse, very well cooked. Besides, people attending the house are very kind, they will try to help you any time you need.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerxxx2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews