We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way better than forts!”

The Worm Hole (Poll na bPeist)
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“way better than forts!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I loved this place and the cliffs beyond. Way more beautiful than the forts and worth the extra effort to find. The highlight of the trip definitely.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becca_RGC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    34
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ah the Worm Hole”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It is rather hard to find even with the map but we did and it was worth every moment. Allow more time than you think.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yogaroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Exhilarating experience”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Thomas Faherty guided us there whilst on his pony & trap ride, otherwise it would have been difficult to find, though less than a km SE from Dun Aonghasa, the spectacular hill fort. When we visited there were raging seas with Atlantic breakers crashing in and spray right over the cliff tops. The a Wormhole was emptying and filling on a regular basis. In the bright winter sunshine it was one of the best natural phenomena that I've seen worldwide. On a quiet day it would be merely amazing if only for its geological formation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We did the pony & trap tour with Thomas and he got out and personally walked us to the Worm Hole. Not sure if we would have found it on our own. Don't miss it. And just to the West along the coast towards the fort is a bay cut into the cliffs called Port Bhéal an Dúin. At high tide it is my favorite place in the world.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mccentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It took awhile to find but it was an amazing adventure!!! It's such a beautiful sights. The rocky walk up the hole was hard at times but my nine year old loved it. Will definitely go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Worm Hole (Poll na bPeist) also viewed

Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to The Worm Hole (Poll na bPeist)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing