We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts, amazing view”
Review of Kilmurvey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmurvey House
Ranked #2 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, amazing view”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Kilmurvey House for just one night and wished we could've stayed longer. Treasa and Bertie were warm and gracious hosts. They picked us up at the dock when we arrived and dropped us off there the next day so we could take the ferry back to the mainland. We had a double bed en suite with a view of Dun Aengus Fort from our window. Kilmurvey House is exactly what you want in a B&B--comfortable, clean rooms with hosts who make you feel at home. And its location at the base of the fort can't be beat. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManUnitedFan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
107
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
211 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is an old  stone house with additions on Inishmore near Dun Aengus, about 5 miles from the ferry pier. The home is welcoming, comfortable, and impeccably maintained. The carpeting in our room seemed to be brand new. Bathrooms were spotless, with beautiful gleaming tiled walls, There are ruins on the property, views of the old ring fort ( Don Aengus) on top of the hill, and several adjacent stores that sell Aran Island sweaters and other goods. We ordered supper at Kilmurvey and were treated to a delicious home cooked salmon dinner. Service was very professional and the food arrived piping hot and perfectly cooked. Breakfast had a large array of cold items as well as yummy hot cooked to order choices. The guesthouse has two drawing rooms in the older part of the structure and a large gathering room suitable for large groups. The family is pleasant and our overnight on Inishmore was comfortable and restful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at Kilmurvey House for a yoga retreat. I had a big, comfortable room with a view of Dun Aonghasa. The shower was piping hot. The lady of the house was entirely welcoming, and her dinners were delicious. As for the breakfasts... I ate too much, every time. I couldn't help it.

Room Tip: I was in Room 4, it was spacious and the bathroom worked perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A lovely place to stay - equal to anything you can get on the mainland. It had been a few years since we stayed on Inishmore and at that time it was hard to find accommodation to this standard. We were met my the owner who was so welcoming and offered us tea or coffee as we were a little early for the room. We got an enormous king size bed with windows on 2 sides and a lovely big e suite.
The location is so perfect - away from the village a the foot of Dun Aengus and beside a picture perfect beach.
As there was no evening dinner the owners brought us into the main village and collected us!! If only we had this service at home!! This also brought us into contact with others from all over the world who were staying in the house and we had such fun on the bus!
The breakfast was just delicious - all home cooked and sooo tasty -
Will def return here someday and would highly recommend to anyone considering staying on the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We've stayed in over 30 B&Bs or hotels in Ireland including one previously on the island. This is a purpose built facility, more hotel than traditional B&B. Our room in the newer section was very large, quiet and modern. Very welcoming staff and excellent breakfast. An easy stroll to a neat cafe but a cab ride into the village.
It does lack the character of one of the cottage sized businesses but I'll take the space and creature comforts.

Room Tip: Although our companions had a very nice room in the older section, the new addition seems to offer m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRBUSAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our first time on the Aran Islands and we loved it! Kilmurvey house was perfect! Great location, close to shops, food, beach. Even though it's a bed and breakfast, we highly recommend you stay in for dinner! The house is colorful and fun, our 9 year old loved it.

((Bonus: They will call the Bike hire for you and have the bikes delivered to the house!))

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Idylic place to stay.
Lovely people. Helped us out with the comedy tickets, arranged the hiring of bikes and helped out all other queries we had.
We're definitely coming back!!
P.S. The home made scones for breakfast - AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Dace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.0 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Property: Kilmurvey House
Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilmurvey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing