We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilmurvey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmurvey House
Ranked #2 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We decided to stay here two nights, and boy are we glad we did! Treasa was a gracious and wonderful host during our stay, not to mention exceptional cook. Our room overlooked Dun Angus and had a small balcony, which was incredible to go out on in the middle of the night, when I swear you could see every star in the sky! Our first afternoon, we took one of the vans for 10€ to the b&b. We walked up to Dun Angus after 4, as she suggested, which was great, because the tourists were pretty much gone. Don't worry about getting a bike the first day if you plan to stay over 2 nights, becuad Treasa can call the company and have bikes delivered out to the b&b. Spending a day riding around the island is a perfect plan. If Treasa's making dinner that night, definitely plan to eat there! We had perfectly cooked salmon that night! The other night, she and her husband dropped us off at s local pub and came back a few hours later to pick us up. Lunch at the little cafe next door was really good. Their food is home cooked, and there is plenty of variety for a couple of days' stay. It was a perfect 2 days for us!

Room Tip: The new wing rooms are bigger, but I loved our small room with the mini balcony facing Dun Angus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hnymnr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
105
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hostess was great, food was amazing and its a really neat place. Definitely recommended. It is very secluded though, its on the base of the trail to the cliffs, but not much else within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retirementexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This small inn is spread across the original stone house and a modern extension. We stayed in the extension, where the rooms are clean and spacious, but the décor is boring. Breakfast was good, including the coffee, which is often not the case in Ireland. Freshly baked scones are offered, but the buffet is limited. The hosts are lovely, very accommodating and helpful. The location of the inn is both its strength and its weakness. It's adjacent to Dun Aengus, which can be visited in the morning before the day trippers arrive. It's also an easy walk to the 7 Churches and the wormhole. However, it's 6 miles to the port where all the restaurants and most of the shops are located. The hosts provide lifts into town for evening meals and to catch the ferry, which is very much appreciated, but the distance from town is a limitation for longer stays.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old building are probably more charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juviall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

An incredible guesthouse! Warm and welcoming, with lovely rooms, and a superb breakfast. Treasa went out of her way to ensure we had a fantastic stay. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Great location beside Dun Aengus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My girlfriend and I had a great time here! Couldn't ask for anything else! The shuttle into town in the evening was really useful! The room was probably the biggest I've ever stayed in lol Would use again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Treasa & Bertie were just wonderful during our stay at Kilmurvey House! The location was ideal, just at the foot of Dun Aengus, with places for lunch and shopping just steps away. We had the most delicious lunch two days in a row at Teach Nan Phaidi Cafe by the little shops in Kilmurvey. My mom, daughter, I concur that these were the most delicious meals our whole time in Ireland!!

Treasa & Bertie just couldn't do enough for us during our stay. From Bertie driving us in and picking us up from dinner in the evening, driving us out to the ferry early in the morning to Treasa making us delicious breakfasts early so we could eat before the ferry to getting us bikes delivered to Kilmurvey House. There was a roaring fire when we came back from bike riding and my daughter read by it for hours while my mom & I enjoyed the tea set out there. She also made sure she was available for any questions we might have. She was a joy to talk to!

Our room was very spacious, with a great view out the back of Dun Aengus on the hill. All in all just a wonderful visit!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bellabuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the new rooms and we were very impressed, breakfast was very good, traditional fry, homemade granola, scones, soda bread etc. Location is good, at the entrance to Dún Aonghasa
with two good cafés close, Kilmurvey even dropped us to the pub and collected us that night!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.0 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Property: Kilmurvey House
Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilmurvey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing