We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab B n B”
Review of Kilmurvey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmurvey House
Ranked #2 of 20 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Fantastic bedroom and terrific bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Lovely welcoming reception rooms with tea and coffee and home baked cake on offer. Extensive and delicous breakfasts with local products such as goat's cheese with seaweed made on Aran, pancakes, vegetarian, full Irish etc. Charming hosts.and staff. Away from the busyness of Kilronan. Just under Dun Aengus so can go up there and have the place to oneself early in the morning or as the sun is setting.
Compares very favourably with any 4 or 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

There is not a negative thing to be said. Out of the 10 days stayed in Ireland the room was the nicest of any we stayed in. The owners are lovely, friendly people and deserve all the praise in the world. lovely place to stay, you'll wish you stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBGREEN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

It is hard to say enough positive things about Kilmurvey House. Our rooms were gorgeous. The the proprietors are second-generation B&B managers and it shows. And it is only a 15-minute walk from Dun Aonghasa.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Recently stayed in Kilmurvey House and I have nothing but positive things to say. I asked for a room with a view if possible and certainly got that. It is right beside the fort so we went there in the evening and it was deserted. Amazing compared to the throngs of people that we saw walking up there the next day. All the staff at the B&B were fantastic and even dropped us to the restaurant that night and dropped our bags to the pier the next day so that we could go exploring. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niamh008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Kilmurvey House is the most beautiful B&B I have ever visited The hosts were extremely gracious and highly concerned for our comfort and leisure. The home is very large with many sitting rooms for guests. The furnishings and art are tasteful and interesting. Our room was clean and large with a terrific view of the mountain and field. Breakfast was delicious! The food is fresh from the area and vegetarians have a huge selection. I highly recommend you visit Kilmurvey House too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Kilmurvey House for one night, and surely wished it could have been longer. The Aran Islands are spectacularly beautiful and peaceful. The temperature in July was about 72, and perfect for riding bikes and exploring. Dad, mom, and our two college boys took the Aran Island ferry from Ros a Mhil, leaving our car in the secure car park overnight (5 Euros). We each took only a backpack and rented bikes upon arrival from Burke's Bicycle Hire. Burke's is not the first bike rental you'll see as you leave the ferry, but hang a left and you can beat the crowd. We emailed ahead to reserve the bikes and he remembered our names from the email! Great selection of bikes, 10 Euros/24 hours.

Back to Kilmurvey House - best decision we made was staying in the middle of the island below Dun Aenghus at this fantastic B & B. We rode an easy 4 miles from the port to Kilmurvey House and, even though we were early for "check in", Treasa allowed us to choose from all the clean rooms and get comfortable. Truly felt like a home away from home. The rooms are extremely clean and well-appointed. Tea and instant coffee are available all day in the sitting room and the breakfast was one of the best we had all week. Don't miss the "tipsy porridge", oatmeal served with a little Bailey's - sooo good! I stumbled upon Kilmurvey House's website and called to book the room. Treasa, the owner, answered the phone herself and gave us a good rate, better than a booking site. Don't be afraid to call any of the hotels in Ireland - every time I did this, I got a better rate than was published on US booking sites or the hotels' site.

The location is perfect for seeing all the sites on the island. Your admission to Dun Aenghus is free if you tell them you're staying at Kilmurvey House, so we went up about 4 pm and had the place to ourselves. The views are stunning. Two small cafes are within walking distance of Kilmurvey House, as well as several souvenier shops. Kilmurvey beach is clean and mostly empty, very close by. Seven Churches is a short bike ride away - I went alone at 7 a.m. and it was a sacred experience. We even rode from Kilmurvey to far end of the island, and the scenery is unforgettable. I truly hope to return someday soon.

Lastly, Treasa's husband, Bertie, will drive you into town for dinner and will pick you up 2 hours later. If you aren't up for bike riding, there are horse drawn carts and several tour buses. Other than that, there are very few vehicles on the island, so we always felt very safe on the roads.

The Aran Islands are definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 4stooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've been to Kilmurvey House 19 times now, and I've no intention of stopping. Treasa and Bertie are fantastic hosts, always incredibly welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is really worth getting up for, there is a buffet section full of lovely homemade foods such as granola, scones, breads, cakes etc. and you can also get a hot plate of food such as a full Irish. There is a blue flag beach about a five minute walk from the house. It is a really good, comfortable place from which to explore the island by bike or on foot.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better wifi than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lizi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
3.5 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
433 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
109 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 20 in Inishmore
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 20 in Inishmore
198 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 20 in Inishmore
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range: £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Kilmurvey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing