We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 for a reason.”
Review of Dun Aonghasa

Dun Aonghasa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$169.23*
and up
Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Dun Aonghasa is the largest of the prehistoric stone forts of the Aran Islands. It is enclosed by three massive dry-stone walls and a chevaux-de-frise consisting of blocks of limestone set vertically into the ground to deter attackers. Originally constructed c.1100BC, it was re-fortified around 700-800 AD. Excavations revealed significant evidence of prehistoric metalworking, as well as several burials.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Number 1 for a reason.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Such a special place. My tip: when you make it to the edge of the cliff, look right and you will see what is sort of a stone bench at the base of a wall. Sit right on the edge of the cliff looking down the coastline for one of the finest views in Ireland. Heck, bring a beverage, sit back and enjoy. It doesn't get much better than this.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SC26b317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    178
    22
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic views”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

amazing place with spectacular views part of a great place to visit on Inishmor. Would say it's a must see if you go out to the islands

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sookie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful and stunning”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My daughter and I took the ferry over in the morning and since it was still cool out, we sat below and took a cat nap as the waves lulled us back to sleep. However, once we got off the ferry, the island was already full of life and we chose to take a car up to the trail head leading to the top of Dun Aengus - the weather was perfect (blue sky and sunny that day) so the small hike was very enjoyable. Once at the top, my daughter and I were in awe of the views and really had a hard time leaving to hike back down. Instead of taking the ferry back, we opted to charter a small aircraft to fly us back and were amazed that it was fairly inexpensive ($35 USD each). We were so happy we did as seeing those views from above was the absolute best thing about our trip. Gorgeous land and spectacular people along the way!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolderry, Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice seaview. Interesting facts surrounding Dun aonghasa but it started to rain on way up so was kinda slippy at times but it is the furthest tip on the island and is definitely one place to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Visited the Aran Islands visiting Inis Mor which is the biggest Island of the three. We hired bikes at a cost of €10 per bike on the pier when getting off the ferry. The bikes brought us to the top of Dun Aengus in about 35mins. When we got as far as you could go on the bike ,we walked the remainder on foot for about 15mins. You could get some lunch or a coffee on the way.To go the final leg cost €8 for a family and the staff were very helpful . One tip would be to go straight , not taking the arrow sign saying Dun Aengus to the right .The scenery this way is beautiful and when you come back the other way bringing a picnic to have on the lovely beaches ,it is most enjoyable . This way back was lovely and flat for cycling and the change of scenery was spectacular. Make sure you have a coffee or a steak sandwich for about €11 in the Pier House Restaurant on the pier when you get back to the dock.
Enjoy

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dun Aonghasa also viewed

 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Dun Aonghasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing