We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people, lovely B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clai Ban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clai Ban
Ranked #9 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We really liked this B&B which we stayed at in summer 2014.
Bartley and Marion were super friendly and the rooms were fine. While Claí Bán is a little outside Cill Rónáin village, don't let that bother you. It's still only a five-minute walk and the great pub / restaurant of Joe Watty's is practically next door.
I'd be happy to recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claibanhouse, Manager at Clai Ban, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are delighted to hear that you have recommended Claí Bán to stay in. We appreciate your feedback and welcome your return.

Regards,

Bartley & Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    31
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Headford, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a night stay in inishmore island, we feel like home at Clai Ban. Got a very warm welcome, the room was sspacious and very clean. We had a nice breakfast on morning. Really recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Antoine-irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claibanhouse, Manager at Clai Ban, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Bartley & Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
181 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very convenient place, not to far from the ferry and next to Joe Wattys, one of the pubs in Kilronan and the place to go if you want to listen to music - or go for a dance. The rooms are nice and most of them are facing the sea, the view is quite nice. Breakfast is traditional and very good and the host is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claibanhouse, Manager at Clai Ban, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We welcome your positive review and thank you for giving us such good feedback.

Regards,

Bartley & Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed only one night but Clai Ban up the hill from the madness of the harbor felt like home. Delicious Breakfast, relaxed and personable owners, and clean comfortable rooms made this B&B a highlight of our trip. I am surprised by the negative reviews here as I believe that part of the appeal of this island is its isolation. Clai Ban is a clean, quiet, and comfortable B&B on a remote island run by kind, generous people.

Room Tip: The "family" room (room 1) is excellent and fits four comfortably but is at ground level a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claibanhouse, Manager at Clai Ban, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We welcome all feedback but it is especially rewarding to hear such complimentary comments as yours.

Regards,

Bartley & Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I loved this place!!! I stayed here with my university and it was fantastic. The B&B is a very short walk from Kilronan and the ferry, we walked straight from the dock. Just beautiful little place, unbelievable views of the ocean and surrounding country side. The rooms were very nice and clean, adorable furniture and gives you a very homey feel. The breakfast is fantastic, the owner will cook you up whatever you want. I decided to try a 'traditional Irish Breakfast' and was not disappointed! If your biking around the Island the B&B is in a very central location as well as not even being a block from T Joe Watty's, a fantastic pub on the Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahNicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claibanhouse, Owner at Clai Ban, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views from our home and that you felt welcomed and comfortable in our bed and breakfast.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and your time at Tí Joe Wattys Bar and Restaurant which is next door to us.

Regards,
Marion and Bartley Hernon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuam, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Room was spotless & tv and coffee facilities, great breakfast but the information on various sites was priceless, really recommend a stay here. Pubs & shop 2 minute walk, central to popular sites & lesser known Black Fort close by.

Room Tip: Upstairs for a little mire privacy, but no issues & table out front to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claibanhouse, Owner at Clai Ban, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.

We welcome all feedback and in particular it is very rewarding to receive such a comment as you posted not only here but also in our visitors book.

Regards,
Marion and Bartley Hernon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here in early June 2014. The overall facility is nice and the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. While many B&B's have a homey feel to them, this place was fairly impersonal. It was functional and centrally located. It served as a good base from which to see the island.

The facility is located a solid 15 minute walk from the dock, which involves some hills. If you are carrying your luggage, pack lightly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GooberandRaisinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claibanhouse, Owner at Clai Ban, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our home.

We are surprised at the fact that you found the feel to be "impersonal" as the comments in the visitors book emphasised the welcoming atmosphere at Claí Bán Bed and Breakfast.

Quotes during early June from the visitors book include "super friendly" , "thanks for the hospitality" and "delightful man served us breakfast".

We thank you for your positive comments and regret that you felt us to be inpersonal.

Kind regards,
Marion and Bartley hernon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clai Ban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clai Ban

Property: Clai Ban
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clai Ban 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B & B located in the centre of Kilronan. We are a 10 minute walk from the harbour and we're a stone throw away from Joe Wattys Bar & Restaurant. All of our rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and televisions. The rate is €30 - €35 per person per night sharing and €45-€70 per night single rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clai Ban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clai Ban Hotel Inishmore
Clai Ban Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing