We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tinas Trip!”
Review of Kilronan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilronan Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Tinas Trip!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here in a 6 bed female room at the end of August. It even had a batroom inside. I was sharing a room with some Spanish girls who were great fun. The hostel was nice and clean with big kitchen and TV room. Even there was some German channels on the TV. The staff were nice and friendly and from many different countrys. The island is beautiful and I recommend you stay a few days on the island to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi Tina,
Thanks for staying with us, so nice to have happy happy guests. We are glad you enjoyed yourself!

Remember there is no extra charge for anything once you book Kilronan Hostel.

FREE Tea and Coffee all day long.
FREE Breakfast
FREE Internet ( Computer )
FREE WI-FI
FREE Towels
FREE Luggage Storage
FREE Safety Deposit Boxes
FREE Games
FREE DVD'S for those wet days
FREE Drying for your wet clothes
FREE Rain jackets, Rain Leggings, Rain Boots
FREE Map
FREE Fishing rods and bait
FREE Hurleys and Sliotars
FREE Sky Sports channels for those big games
FREE Ironing board and iron
FREE Hairdriers
FREE Electricity convertors

Also remember that all rooms have a bathroom with shower and we have no large dorms!

If you need anything we can do to make you stay more enjoyable, please please please ask a member of staff when you are at Kilronan Hostel, not weeks after you leave by email!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    58
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
37
28
89
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after hearing great things from other travelers I had met. It did not disappoint, very friendly staff, clean rooms/bathrooms and comfy beds. This hostel has a great atmosphere and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We got the boat over and the hostel was part of a package. From the outside the hostel looks well - that's the only part that does! We got to the room and it was filthy! The windows were cracked and cello taped together, there were wires coming out of the bathroom floor, there was graffiti sprayed on the walls!!! As for the beds - after cycling around all day the bunk beds were wooden frames with a thin camp style mattress, the sheets were stained!!! Nobody around the next morning to complain to!! I have stayed in many hostels before and can put up with old etc but not dirty!!! Awful would not recommend to anyone! Pay the extra for a B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
First of all I would like to apologies unreservedly for your stay at Kilronan Hostel. I agree totally that we did not live up to our usual high standards that all guests deserve. I only wish you had contacted us sooner but I am glad that you did.
You should never have been put into this room as it was “blocked” on our computer system so nobody should have been staying there as it was not ready for guests. The reason it was “blocked” was that two days previously we have a group in that damaged the room you were in and also another room. You have seen the damage for yourself. As you can imaging as we are on an island it takes some time to get things repaired as we normally have to get somebody in from Galway to carry out any works. We also are upgrading our beds room by room and we appreciate your comments on this.
I have reprimanded the member of staff who allocated you that room and retrained him on the check in procedures.
The reception is open for 40 minutes once the ferries arrive (as 99% of people arrive on the ferry). We also have a paging system at reception, it says “Please press the FIND key for reception” for people who do not arrive off the ferry. This is a black phone system located on the left hand side of the reception desk. There is also the number of the hostel on the back of the phone. We have five members of staff who also live on the premises, two of them having a paging system with them at all time. Normally they are easy to find
If we spotted our mistake and changed you to a different room had we been aware of our mistake when you were her at the hostel.
We have been associated with Island Ferries for 10 years with over 10,000 bookings in that time and this is the first complaint we ever had. We always strive to make peoples stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and once again we apologies for letting you down on this occasion.
Because of your complaint we have tried to improve out standards by putting notices in all room about our paging system so that it clear how to get in contact with a staff member if the reception is closed. We also have ordered implemented a uniform for staff so they can be easily identified among the other guests (arriving any day now).
We take all complaints very seriously but the last 4 years we had only a handful of “Terrible Reviews” reviews on Tripadvisor out of a total of 20,000 guests, 99.99 of guests are enjoy their stay with us.
Kilronan Hostel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratoath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Myself and my two young boys stayed in a private room with ensuite facilities, it was ideal for us. Kitchen facilities are excellent with free breakfast, and free tea and coffee all day. Staff are amazing and so welcoming and helpful. This place will amaze you, it is so much more than a hostel. I only wish we had booked a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi there, Thank you for your nice comments. It was great that you an the kids enjoyed their stay here with us. See you guys next year. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hostel is perfect and the staff really helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are en-suite and have comfortable beds. If you ask they provide you towels, lockers and hairdryer. Near to the harbour and with many options to rent a bike is the perfect place to stay one or more nights to visit this wonderful island.I totally recomend it!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_Noguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments. We strive to make all stay as enjoyable as possible. All the staff appreciate nice honest and balanced reviews. Please call and see us again!
Dave and the gang!

Attention all TRIPADVISOR advisor reviewers: If you need anything, just ask a member of staff and we will do all in our power to make your stay enjoyable!

Remember there is no extra charge for anything once you book Kilronan Hostel.

FREE Tea and Coffee all day long.
FREE Breakfast
FREE Internet ( Computer )
FREE WI-FI
FREE Towels
FREE Luggage Storage
FREE Safety Deposit Boxes
FREE Games
FREE DVD'S for those wet days
FREE Drying for your wet clothes
FREE Rain jackets, Rain Leggings, Rain Boots
FREE Map
FREE Fishing rods and bait
FREE Hurleys and Sliotars
FREE Sky Sports channels for those big games
FREE Ironing board and iron
FREE Hairdriers
FREE Electricity convertors

Also remember that all rooms have a bathroom with shower and we have no large dorms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very friendly staff but woke up to find a male in our female only room . Not the end of the world but Id have preferred a heads up. Heating didnt come on so our wet clothes never dried out. Excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for your comments.
We offer female only rooms which you can book online.
We offer free drying facilities at the hostel due to the unpredictable weather.
We have extra heaters if anybody needs them ( Even in August ).

PLEASE TRIPADVISOR CLIENTS....ask at reception or ask any of our staff for anything you need while you are here. This will make your stay more enjoyably and save you time reviewing items that we already have.

Remember there is no extra charge for anything once you book Kilronan Hostel.

FREE Tea and Coffee all day long.
FREE Breakfast
FREE Internet ( Computer )
FREE WI-FI
FREE Towels
FREE Luggage Storage
FREE Safety Deposit Boxes
FREE Games
FREE DVD'S for those wet days
FREE Drying for your wet clothes
FREE Rain jackets, Rain Leggings, Rain Boots
FREE Map
FREE Fishing rods and bait
FREE Hurleys and Sliotars
FREE Sky Sports channels for those big games

Also remember that all rooms have a bathroom with shower and we have no large dorms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here in July and while the room itself wasn't too bad the noise levels were unacceptable.
The staff were throwing bottles from the bar out into a bin in the alleyway until approx 3.30am thus making it impossible to get a good night's sleep overhead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 300t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi there,
I have honestly no idea what you are talking about?

Remember there is no extra charge for anything once you book Kilronan Hostel.

FREE Tea and Coffee all day long.
FREE Breakfast
FREE Internet ( Computer )
FREE WI-FI
FREE Towels
FREE Luggage Storage
FREE Safety Deposit Boxes
FREE Games
FREE DVD'S for those wet days
FREE Drying for your wet clothes
FREE Rain jackets, Rain Leggings, Rain Boots
FREE Map
FREE Fishing rods and bait
FREE Hurleys and Sliotars
FREE Sky Sports channels for those big games
FREE Ironing board and iron
FREE Hairdriers
FREE Electricity convertors

Also remember that all rooms have a bathroom with shower and we have no large dorms!

If you need anything we can do to make you stay more enjoyable, please please please ask a member of staff when you are at Kilronan Hostel, not weeks after you leave by email!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
7.1 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
105 reviews
17.0 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Hostel

Property: Kilronan Hostel
Address: Kilronan Village, Inis Mor, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly beside the pier on Inis Mor, Kilronan Hostel is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the magic of the Aran Islands. With stunning views of Kilronan Harbour and the Atlantic Ocean, our hostel is a stress-free zone where you can really feel at home! At Kilronan Hostel, comfort and cleanliness are our priorities. We have small dorms, all en-suite, meaning you can stay in comfort at a very reasonable price. We have a spacious and well-equipped kitchen which is open all day for your use, as well as a cosy TV room and a fantastic outdoor seating and BBQ area. Less than 5 minutes' walk to the supermarket and ATM and all the best local pubs and restaurants, we have free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel and all rates include breakfast, towels and free tea/coffee all day long. ************************************************************************ Please be aware that we cannot accept credit/debit card payments at this moment in time, so make sure to bring enough cash with you as the ATM is only accessible between 9am and 6pm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kilronan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Hotel Inishmore
Kilronan Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing