We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional experience! A must for novice to experienced travelers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilronan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilronan Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Exceptional experience! A must for novice to experienced travelers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Can not say enough good things..a home away from home for lone travelers to big groups. Very clean space with breath taking views. Friendly atmosphere, always someone looking to take you out for a beer or share some of their food with. Summer is the best time to enjoy this Irish island by bike and brew!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    52
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
35
23
87
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I think this is the best hostel all over the world! The price-performance is very good. The hostel is very clean and the staff very helpful! The manager is very nice and you can vistit the pub with him :D I want to come back in this hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

4 of us stayed here for one night as part of a week long cycle trip up the west coast of Ireland. Very convenient location, and friendly helpful staff and a big well stocked kitchen with an outside BBQ. Perfect for cooking a good meal after a long day on the bikes! They even have fishing rods you can borrow to go and catch your own dinner if that's your thing! We had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone.

I see one complaint about the beds etc; ignore it. This hostel was as clean and comfortable as any other we stayed in during the week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwenC366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Inis Mor is a great island for everyone who loves nature, and Kilronan Hostel is a very good place to stay: a friendly, comfy and clean hostel. I stayed in a 4 bed room with sea view. Marco was a good host, I felt very welcome. All guests and staff were nice people. You can rent a bicycle at the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a very affordable and well-situated hostel on the Aran Islands. It is a very traditional hostel in the sense that it has several rooms with bunk beds, so it is nothing fancy. However, each room has its own bathroom inside, so at least you are not sharing with too many people.

The location is fantastic - walking distance from the dock, so it's very easy to get to. The staff is also extremely friendly and helpful. This is one of the most affordable ways to spend a night or two on the island, which is really worth doing. One thing to note is that although the hostel does have wifi, it doesn't work well in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuchaBrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here in a four (4)-bedroom at the early August. It had a bathroom inside the room. I was sharing a room with two guys from Spain who were great fun. The hostel was nice and clean with big kitchen and TV room. The staff was nice, friendly, and very helpful in assisting in a great stay on the island. The island is beautiful, there are several days worth of historic sites to visit and explore, the local citizens are very friendly and I found to be extremely helpful with directions. There is a nice beach, however, our Spanish friends said the water was cold (I took their warning and did not go in as I had a full day planned of other attractions). Kilronan Hostel is conveniently located near the harbor so access to the ferry, restaurants, pubs, shops and bicycle rentals is exceptional. You can see the hostel from the ferry coming into the harbor. things to and I recommend you stay a few days on the island to enjoy.

The question arises, would I stay there again? I am not one to return to the same place year after year, as I am always wondering what the view is like over that next hill and around that next bend. However, there are many attractions to bring one to Inis Mor and I would positively prefer to stay at Kilronan Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken-from-MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Ireland is my favorite place on earth and innismore is my favorite place there. This hostel is a great place to stay. Clean, friendly and set up so you can have to the perfect view while sipping tea or Guinness. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.3 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Hostel

Property: Kilronan Hostel
Address: Kilronan Village, Inis Mor, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly beside the pier on Inis Mor, Kilronan Hostel is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the magic of the Aran Islands. With stunning views of Kilronan Harbour and the Atlantic Ocean, our hostel is a stress-free zone where you can really feel at home! At Kilronan Hostel, comfort and cleanliness are our priorities. We have small dorms, all en-suite, meaning you can stay in comfort at a very reasonable price. We have a spacious and well-equipped kitchen which is open all day for your use, as well as a cosy TV room and a fantastic outdoor seating and BBQ area. Less than 5 minutes' walk to the supermarket and ATM and all the best local pubs and restaurants, we have free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel and all rates include breakfast, towels and free tea/coffee all day long. ************************************************************************ Please be aware that we cannot accept credit/debit card payments at this moment in time, so make sure to bring enough cash with you as the ATM is only accessible between 9am and 6pm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kilronan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Hotel Inishmore
Kilronan Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing