We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a unique experience, warm welcome & delicious food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmann
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Inishmann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a unique experience, warm welcome & delicious food”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My favourite get away , best place to unwind , delicious food, amazing setting, serene & calm , unique landscape & venue . My third visit here in 3 years , gets better every time , even this year with baby in tow , best hosts you could wish for

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnspooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
88
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and i have just returned from a weekend on Inis Meain.We had the pleasure of eating in the restaurant on both nights.We have been to many good restaurants across the globe and have no hesitation in recommending this place as amongst the best we have eaten in.
It was astounding for us to find such a place on the island.The ambience and welcome were first class.The setting with panoramic views over the Atlantic Ocean was sublime.As for the food,Ruairi is a fantastic chef who manages to produce melt in your mouth dishes of the highest quality.
The attention to detail is excellent.We really could not fault anything at all.
The island is so easy to get to by boat or a short (6 mins!) plane ride.
We will be back for more!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

A friend at work recommended the Inis Meain suites to me as something quite special and completely different to anywhere else I would have been before. He was right on both counts and I was delighted to have booked in for my husband’s 40th as something he wouldn’t forget. The suites and Inis Meain itself are small, quiet and very beautiful, but both give so much more than such simple words.

Upon arrival at the ferry you’re picked up in a mini-bus and given a brief introduction to the key bearing points on the island before driving up to the suites. Marie-Therese then gives you a quick run-down on what to see and do, and information about the drinking water (being an island they rely on scarce water resources and a desalinisation plant). We then enjoyed a complimentary sparkling wine with elderflower cordial aperitif as we soaked up the view.

The suites themselves blend into the landscape and from the restaurant and your room, you have uninterrupted views of land, sea and sky. The size of the room is generous and understated, as if not wishing to detract from the views beyond. The bathroom is a bit small, and needs a hook or two, but its size keeps it warm and you’re not going to spend much time in there anyway. The entry door would also benefit from a drape, however modesty can be preserved using the dressing-gowns provided.

What lifts the Inis Meain suites from just being a lovely place, to being very special, is its food. The breakfast provided is simple but delicious and there is more than enough of it for both breakfast and lunch (yoghurt, poached egg, ciabatta, buffalo mozzarella, muesli, fruit, chocolate mousse, juice, ham) and each day you’re given a fresh loaf of soda bread. Tea and filter coffee are in the room as well as a microwave. Jam, milk and butter are complimentary in the fridge, but there are also items for sale in the “mini-deli” such as cheese, meat, wine and chocolate. Ruairi cooks up some fantastic dishes in the restaurant. Of course seafood is the main theme of the menu, with complimentary periwinkles (a lesson on how to eat them is included), crab, monk fish, lobster, scallops, etc. However there are vegetarian and non-seafood options. Portions are of a good size but not overwhelming, though we’re not big eaters and had difficulty fitting in more than 2 courses. There is also an excellent wine menu.

The island itself is more than enough to keep you busy for a couple of days of solid exploring. Although bikes are provided at the suites, the roads don’t circle the entire island as they tend to cross the spine of the island and down the mainland side, so you really need to get out on foot to see everything. The ‘path’ from Synge’s chair around the limestone pavement to the windmills is only a few kilometres, but it does give you a good workout and you’re rewarded with the best views on the island. The cliffs are dramatic and the power of the sea is evident in the size of the rocks flung up onto the island. You can reach them easily along the limestone pavement. But bring a coat. There is nowhere to shelter if you get caught in the rain. The entire island is crisscrossed by a maze of dry-stone walls that are extraordinary in design and scale, but you could count the number of trees on the island on one hand. As my husband kept saying, the island has a “Big Sky”. Go there and you’ll see what he means

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't adjoin the restaurant if you need more quiet than the island itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzie_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Everything that's been said about the Inis Meain suites and restaurant is absolutely true, we had a fantastic time here. The building blends seemlessly into it's surroundings, the food is gorgeous, we had lobster twice! the suites are relaxing and the beds are very comfortable. Walking the island is recommended, the pub is very welcoming as are the people.
I highly recommend it, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Very enjoyable stay and excellent and fresh food. Hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPWPAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This was quite simply one of the best dining and hotel experiences anywhere.
Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites take their inspiration from agri-turismo and eco tourist businesses in Europe and elsewhere. From my experience of ventures in Spain and South America they are top of that league.
The food is excellent, superb quality ingredients cooked to perfection. There is great diversity in the menu so you can sample a good choice over a few nights. The wine list is really well chosen.
A breakfast tray is placed inside your door every morning with an abundance of fresh fruit, ham, cheeses, muesli, poached eggs - the list goes on.
The suites themslves are well laid out and allow the island express itself with a wall to wall window.
As we were leaving we asked ourselves what would we change about the whole set up; the answer was nothing.
Marie Therese and Ruari have created something quite exceptional here. While the quality of all that's described above will be self-evident to anyone who stays there, there is an underlying confidence, ambition and sincerity at Inis Meain R&S which is refreshing.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imeacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Myself and my wife have just had our second break at the suites. We shall return.
Good friends and excellent food, combine to refresh the soul.
And the pub is within walking distance....;)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjydagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmann
4.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
416 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
236 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites

Property: Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites
Address: Inis Meain, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmann
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmann
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inis Meain is one of the Aran Islands, 15 miles off the west coast of Ireland. It is just 3 miles across and supports 160 inhabitants. Ruairi & Marie-Therese de Blacam created Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites to enhance visitor's appreciation of the island by providing a style of accommodation and dining that is complimentary to the location. The suites are simple and understated in styling, with ample space and views. The restaurant serves mainly island-sourced food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inis Meain Restaurant And Suites
Inis Meain Restaurant Hotel Inishmann
Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites Ireland/Aran Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing