We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Inishmann B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my first visit to Inis Meain and definitely won’t be my last. This B&B is situated in the most idyllic setting, right in the heart of the island. Upon arrival we were greeted in the little café with the offer of tea/coffee, and even though we arrived early they still welcomed us to check into our room, as it happened to be ready.
The B&B itself is operated by a lovely family. It’s really clean and you can tell they take great pride in their business. The rooms have soft fluffy white towels with a nice comfy, yet hard mattress. The sea view from our bedroom window was magnificent. They do a pretty epic full Irish fry in the morning and the set-dinner menu uses their own home-grown veggies. I particularly liked my berry crumble, with fresh tiny blackberries from the garden, yum! They also serve a selection of beers and wines.
The B&B is within walking distance to the church (2mins), pub (5mins) and is right next door to J.M. Sygne’s thatch cottage, who wrote ‘Playboy of the Western World’. You can also walk to ‘Synge’s chair’ which is a 5 minute walk to the top of the island overlooking Inis Mor. There are seats here to sit relax, paint or write – so beautiful.
During the day the B&B is a real stop-off spot for cyclists, as they serve lunch in the little café. Overall it’s the perfect setting, ran by a really friendly and accommodating family. Already I look forward to my return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AislingQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    12
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
42
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and my husband are just back from a short stay in Inis Mheain. We had a meal in An Dun and on receiving an important call from our daughter were informed that mobile phones are not allowed in the dining room and did we not see the notice on the door on our way in. Our meal was average and on paying the bill we were told they do not accept laser cards. I had no option but to pay by cash and as there are no ATM.s on the island we were not at all pleased and would have assumed that all restaurants would have this facility. We would not return to this restaurant. We got genuine Inis Mhean Irish hospitality in An Creig Mor B&B, and would definitely recommend this B&B and our experience in An Dun speaks for itself!!.. Edel and Martin Galway.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anduninismeain, Owner at An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
I had no choice but to ask this couple to adhere to the sign in the Dining room " Turn off your mobile phone " as was requested by other diners on the evening of the 29 July. A past guest who appreciated the intimacy with wonderful scenic views from the dining room sent us this sign but this is the first time we have had to point it out to customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Visited Inish Maan this week, for the first time, for a brief walking holiday. Selected An Dun as accomodation, based on Tripadvisor reviews. It was a most memorable visit. The food is many steps above the typical level of Bed and Breakfast accomodation. The clincher is that the vegetables are all grown in the island gardens of the family who own the business. The new potatoes, alone, were something from another era, in terms of quality. But the most important feature is the welcome of the the owners, Teresa and Padraigh. Their interest in and knowledge of their island is infectious and charming. And it doesn't hurt that, just across the road from their front door, is the main archaeological site on the island, an immense ring-fort built with the island's stones and thousands of years old. Will definitely be going back as soon as practicable.

Room Tip: An Dun is at the highest point of the island, so the views are universally wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishcitytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An Dun is a lovely place, more upscale than its pictures online suggest. Our room on the third floor had stunning views is the island and the ocean. It was spacious and beautifully appointed. The food was amazing and the dining room also had great views. The owners were frienldly and helpful. It is located directly next door to Synge's cottage and across the street from the amazing Dun Conor. The island is remote, and all we did was walk to all of the many historical sites. It was quire and relaxing and a great quiet pause in our busy tip.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor room. Just stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What an amazing place this is. I cannot thank Teresa and Padraigh enough for everything they did for us on our stay at their beautiful home. Beautiful room with spectacular views of the island, Exceptional Cuisine, all homegrown and cooked to perfection. Most of all I would like to thank them for their honest hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

An Dun was a cozy and comfortable place for our stay in the Aran Islands. Inishmaan is the least inhabited, least touristy island of the three, and that is what we wanted. We didn't expect many creature comforts, but got plenty at An Dun. The food was very good, and Teresa was very hospitable. The prices seemed a little high, but considering the quality and the location, we were willing to pay without complaint. An Dun is in the center of everything--all of the hikes, the short walk to the village center, the pub, the general store. We found the beds comfortable. The bathroom was not a typical American style bathroom--water was precious, and the showers didn't stay hot for very long. Still, everything was more than adequate, even enjoyable. Don't miss out on the remote walks by skipping Inis Meain. If you're looking for touristy and easy, this island is not necessarily the place for you. All of the other reviews are pretty spot on about communicating ahead, and catch the taxi up the hill if you are carrying more than a backpack. We had no idea and just got lucky that we caught one at the ferry stop.

Room Tip: We had the suite at the top of the steps--big room with room for 4 people if 2 double up in one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthelm96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were not aware upon booking this b&b that it was located on the most remote of the islands. When the ferry dropped us off, the one taxi service on the island was waiting for us and took us to An Dun. The b&b was very comfortable, the owners were very kind and the food was delicious. All the food was homemade and we were given plenty of options for our three course meal. I would recommend walking around the island, the views from the cliffs are amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmann
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
An Creagan B&B
An Creagan B&B
#6 of 8 in Inisheer
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 19 in Inishmore
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant

Property: An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Address: Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmann
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Dun Bed & Breakfast And Restaurant Ireland/Aran Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing