We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed at.”
Review of Hotel Inis Oirr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Inis Oirr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever stayed at.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family and I recently spent one very long night in this property. It may have been registered as a hotel in the 70s when the dated décor , narrow dark corridors, unpleasant kitchen aromas ,stains on the bed linen ,lumpy pillows and absence of hot water were an accepted standard of accommodation. But this is 2013 and much more is expected of a premises that describes itself as a hotel. Our first impression as we walked through the main entrance of the pub was not positive and as we walked through the pub past the pool table we eventually approached the "reception" and waited patiently for someone to acknowledge our arrival which was not of the failte we expected. Our general impression of the food offered on the bar menu and the general sense of lack of cleanliness and the ambience in the pub area was not to our taste, as we expected fresh sea food and perhaps even a glimpse of the sea! so we sought out a pleasant alternative in Tigh Ruairis. We did enjoy the breakfast which offered a good selection, but please owners invest in your business or experiences similar reviews in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    27
    9
    5
    15
See reviews for
26
26
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The staff are fantastic kids wet more than welcomed food is amazing and the cheapest On the island brilliant Live music at night willing to sing almost anything and I'm actually looking forward to going back the 24th July kids with special needs wet treated so amazingly can't say enough oh and it's wheelchair friendly there is a hill going into the pub but wheelchair users can use hotel door bathrooms wet also so clean

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoinettenorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killaloe, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Just Back from hotel "Ostan Inis Oirr". With my wife and two small children.

We were given a family room (double bed and 3 single beds).

Probably the best family room we have ever stayed in i.e. incredibly spacious and clean.

Very friendly staff, and the food was lovely.

I highly recommend any families interested staying overnight on Inisheer to book this hotel.

:)

Room Tip: Book room number 1 (family room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonfahy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here on the 29th March for one night, the room was spotless with a lovely view of the old castle and school, the staff were very friendly and there was a nice atmosphere to the hotel. The adjoining pub downstairs is full of character, with the locals very happy to chat about this beautiful island. I would recommend you eat in the restaurant and have the full Irish breakfast which is to die for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion Mills, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Just back from a hen weekend, 22 of us,stayed in the hotel,fantastic hotel,hospitality,food,entertainment, staff and locals were amazing. Was that good,im heading back with my family nxt weekend!! Thanks for a great weekend!xx Stacey cunningham from Strabane!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stopped here for a bit of grub after making our way by ferry from Doolin to Inisheer. The staff were very friendly, food was lovely and it's situated in an ideal spot right beside the bike hire. We came back later in the day after visiting all the sites and it was packed compared to the first time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekellyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleblayney, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely rooms huge bathroom, nice brekkie blt. Only problem was the heat was on but the girl turned it off when I asked. Food in bar was average, don't chance the chicken stir fry.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inisheer
7.3 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
7.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inis Oirr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inis Oirr

Property: Hotel Inis Oirr
Address: Lurgan Village, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inisheer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ostan Inis Oirr, owned and run by the Flaherty family for 30 years. The hotel is situated close to sandy beach and pier. The 14 bedrooms include 2 large family rooms. All bedrooms are en-suite with central heating, electric blankets and hairdryers. Facilities include a Restaurant, bar and Lounge. A magnificent dining room is overlooking a castle. There is fresh local seafood with full wine and bar facilities also available on request for non residents. A Great atmosphere with traditional Irish Music and food in the Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Inis Oirr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel) Hotel Inishere
Hotel Inisheer Ostan Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr Aran Islands, Ireland - Inisheer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing