We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so hot”
Review of Hotel Inis Oirr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Inis Oirr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Had a coffee here. Coffee was not great. Staff basically mute - took the cash, no eye contact.
We sat outside. The tables all had dirty plates and glasses. I cleared my own table. A friendly local dog helped to clear off the adjoining table - not something I have seen before.
Worth a visit if you want to gain practical restaurant experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank astaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Inis Oirr
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and myself booked a ferry in Doolin to travel over to Inisheer for a Declan O'Rourke gig in Aras Eanna on Saturday 2nd August. I booked this stay about two to three months earlier by phone and rang to confirm it a week before. We had a lovely ferry boat crossing from Doolin to Inisheer. The hotel was located about 5 minutes walk from the pier. We arrived at the hotel and were met by a full bar at around 12:30 in the afternoon with people getting lunch and local revellers. We checked in at reception which is located either through the bar or around the side. We went to our room and it was a rerasonable size with ensuite facility. There is no tea/coffee available in the room which would have been nice. The bed and room was comfortable. However we soon realised we had been put in the room beside the boilerhouse. Every time a hot tap was turned on this boiler was activated and it was very noisy. I went to reception about ait and they said they were full up and could not move us. anyhow we went out and had a great meal in a local restaurant ( not the hotel) and went to a great gig in Aras Eanna which is a wonderful centre with a theatre , gallery, tea room and lovey staff. We came back about 11:30 and the bar was hopping in the hotel. We went to our room and about 2 hours later a few lads full of the local brew and feeling no pain sang and generally paid no heed to the late hour for about an hour. Although it was late it was actually very funny listening to the antics. I suppose really though the hotel staff should have asked them to quiten down. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and went for a walk. We checked out about 11 AM and complained again abot the bolier and mentioned the noise during the night. The person on reception reduced the price by €10. She said we could speak to the owner but we left it be. All in all our trip to the island was great but I'm not sure if we would go back to the hotel but only due to the boiler issue. As a hotel it is a very nice 3 star accomodation. The staff were very busy the whole time we were there but the people we dealt with could have been a little more friendly.

Room Tip: avoid the room beside the boiler house
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I fell in love with Inis Oirr and the Ostan (Inisheer Hotel). The people are welcoming and work hard to show their guest a fantastic time. I do plan on going back and will definitely be booking with them for my stay (which I will make longer than one evening). Thank you for an amazing experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Melynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

For anyone like us who like to head to the Aran Islands to get away from it all Ostan Inis Iarr is a great spot. While it might not be the most luxurious hotel stay, it's comfortable, cosy and close to everything. We had a lovely spacious double room on our last stay & both got a great night's sleep. We didn't eat in the hotel bar but got a few drinks & there was a great atmosphere. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AKoalaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I visited the beautiful Aran Islands in May 2014. We did not stay at this hotel overnight but we did eat in the hotel's pub. I want to put it in writing that we had the BEST SEAFOOD CHOWDER that we have ever had anywhere on this planet! And we try the chowder every place we travel. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The place seriously needs a health inspection visit. Toilets were filth. Food was thrown together. Atmosphere was rough and rowdy full of drunks. The dirt of the place is what annoyed me most. Seriously needs a make over. I'd hate to see what the rooms were like. Hotel my back side! !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
13  Thank RoyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Got off the boat to miserable drizzly rain so ducked in here until it cleared up. The bar had everything we needed from a roaring fire to dry our clothes, tasty food, all the matches on the tv and even a pool table. The bangers and mash were smashing if you are deciding what to have for dinner....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weltnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inisheer
7.3 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
421 reviews
22.3 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Creagan B&B
An Creagan B&B
#4 of 8 in Inisheer
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
An Moinear
An Moinear
#3 of 8 in Inisheer
8 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 20 in Inishmore
92 reviews
7.1 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inis Oirr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inis Oirr

Address: Lurgan Village, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inisheer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
Price Range: £72 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ostan Inis Oirr, owned and run by the Flaherty family for 30 years. The hotel is situated close to sandy beach and pier. The 14 bedrooms include 2 large family rooms. All bedrooms are en-suite with central heating, electric blankets and hairdryers. Facilities include a Restaurant, bar and Lounge. A magnificent dining room is overlooking a castle. There is fresh local seafood with full wine and bar facilities also available on request for non residents. A Great atmosphere with traditional Irish Music and food in the Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Inis Oirr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel) Hotel Inishere
Hotel Inisheer Ostan Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr Aran Islands, Ireland - Inisheer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing