We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique”
Review of Plassey Wreck

Plassey Wreck
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.67*
and up
Boat Trip to Inis Oirr in the Aran Islands from Doolin
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Inisheer
Certificate of Excellence
West Haven, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a quaint little island. We rented bikes and rode almost the entire island. This is a curiously beautiful odd ship wreck that is a bit hard to find but quite prominent once you do. You can walk all around it for pictures. Very scenic views at all angles. We ended the day at Tigh Neds for a Guinness. It is a wonderful place to spend the day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballinrobe, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A must for Father Ted fans”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Visit Inisheer Island on a gloriously sunny day and you won't believe you are in the West of Ireland. The "Plassey", i.e. the wreck by now has acquired a deep red layer of rust that beautifully contrasts against the light grey stone. Great photo onject.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great extra as part of a great trip”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I'm posting under the Plassey Wreck attraction as there was no separate section to review the other bits I loved about this Island.

We arrived on Inis Oirr with O'Brien Line Ferries... the first thing we did was to catch a ride with the fantastic Eammon and his horse Bob on a pony and trap tour of the island.

This was brilliant and Hugely recommended (the pony/trap drivers are waiting for you at the end of the pier). It cost just E10 each - and that is money that goes directly to supporting those who live on the island.

Eammon, a softly-spoken, wonderful person, took us through paths and roads, explaining the history of the area and what it is like for islanders nowadays.

We visited the Plassey Wreck (which was so much fun for a diehard Father Ted fan), and onwards up to the castle... we had to walk up a little hill because it was a bit too steep for the horse.

Bob (the horse), was an extremely well-cared for Clydesdale, and it was such a pleasure doing this trip with them both.

Then, we called in to see the lovely lady who runs the Castle cafe (at the foot of the castle, in her own house). She is an absolute legend, serving up interesting tales and the best seafood chowder we've ever tried.

She also has a library of books on the local area to browse through while you're waiting for food.

A really lovely adventure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FullMoonFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
281 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Large steamer rusting on the shore”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The story of the Plassey is a classic of a cargo vessel running aground and breaking up on these treacherous shores. That every one was rescued was a miracle. Nice stop along a beautiful walk around the island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cruising_kitty_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“and you can climb inside!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Photo op. Worth the walk. An old rust heap from the 1960's as featured on Father Ted opening sequence.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiingHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plassey Wreck also viewed

Inisheer, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Plassey Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing