We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plassey Wreck

Plassey Wreck
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.17*
and up
Boat Trip to Inis Oirr in the Aran Islands from Doolin
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Inisheer
Certificate of Excellence
Seljord, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Plassey wreck doesn't look that big on photos, but when you get up close it's huge. Very interesting to imagine the sight of the huge ship hit land like it did. A must when visiting the Inishere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank robinfb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Lovely sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Wanted to see this boat since I got into the father ted comedy. It's a wonderful spot for photo opportunities as is the while island. Last time I was there we hired out a horse and carriage for a trip around the island but when I go again I would rather walk as I can spend hours walking around with my camera. Highly recommend visiting this island. Also, there's a lovely pub that does
Delightful toasted sandwiches.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Father Ted Craggy Island Shipwreck on Inisheer lol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was a must visit due to the famous Father Ted comedy series. We hired bikes and cycled to the wreck however walking would be no problem either. The boat looks just as good in real life as on the TV. Good for taking photos as there are lots of nooks and crannies. The wreck has a great history which is well covered in other reviews of this attraction. We enjoyed it.
Note: The attraction itself is not suitable for elderly or wheelchair persons as it has very rocky access however the road nearby is fine and there are also locals who do sightseeing trips around the Island in horse or tractor drawn carts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Amazing...breath taking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This ship wreck does be on the beginning of 'father ted' and it is amazing to see it. Sank in 1960s and all crew were rescued by inis sheer residents... Years later an incredible storm washed the wreck ashore where it now stands upright. i even climbed inside it but be very careful as its all rusty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a quaint little island. We rented bikes and rode almost the entire island. This is a curiously beautiful odd ship wreck that is a bit hard to find but quite prominent once you do. You can walk all around it for pictures. Very scenic views at all angles. We ended the day at Tigh Neds for a Guinness. It is a wonderful place to spend the day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plassey Wreck also viewed

Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inisheer, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Plassey Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing