We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This ship really is a rust bucket”
Review of Plassey Wreck

Plassey Wreck
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.84*
and up
Boat Trip to Inis Oirr in the Aran Islands from Doolin
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Inisheer
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This ship really is a rust bucket”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The ship is in a very dramatic position perched on top of rocks and it is still largely intact, glowing a fine rusty colour. A lot of people are interested in the Plassey because it features in the Father Ted TV show.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seljord, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huge!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Plassey wreck doesn't look that big on photos, but when you get up close it's huge. Very interesting to imagine the sight of the huge ship hit land like it did. A must when visiting the Inishere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank robinfb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely sight”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Wanted to see this boat since I got into the father ted comedy. It's a wonderful spot for photo opportunities as is the while island. Last time I was there we hired out a horse and carriage for a trip around the island but when I go again I would rather walk as I can spend hours walking around with my camera. Highly recommend visiting this island. Also, there's a lovely pub that does
Delightful toasted sandwiches.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Father Ted Craggy Island Shipwreck on Inisheer lol”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was a must visit due to the famous Father Ted comedy series. We hired bikes and cycled to the wreck however walking would be no problem either. The boat looks just as good in real life as on the TV. Good for taking photos as there are lots of nooks and crannies. The wreck has a great history which is well covered in other reviews of this attraction. We enjoyed it.
Note: The attraction itself is not suitable for elderly or wheelchair persons as it has very rocky access however the road nearby is fine and there are also locals who do sightseeing trips around the Island in horse or tractor drawn carts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Amazing...breath taking”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This ship wreck does be on the beginning of 'father ted' and it is amazing to see it. Sank in 1960s and all crew were rescued by inis sheer residents... Years later an incredible storm washed the wreck ashore where it now stands upright. i even climbed inside it but be very careful as its all rusty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plassey Wreck also viewed

Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inisheer, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Plassey Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing