We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Karaun House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarenbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karaun House
Ranked #1 of 3 Clarenbridge B&B and Inns
Many, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Me and my 15 year old daughter joined my sister, her friend, and my brother and his wife in Ireland this past summer for the most wonderful vacation ever! But this B&B was the best place that we stayed. Teresa is the most wonderful lady you could ever meet. We had a flat tire on our rental car and her husband went out of his way to take me to a garage to get a new tire. Wonderful people everywhere in Ireland, but these 2 make you feel like family. Will come back here and stay longer next time which i hope is soon. And if your in this area do not miss the Trad on the Prom River Dancers they were AWESOME!!!!!!!
Paula and Lauren Baker

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Despite having booked well in advance we were given a very small room under the eaves with an equally tiny shower room, maybe because we only booked for one night. The room was so small there was no possibility of bringing a suitcase up. The house has a dangerous staircase, highly polished with open treads. Our hostess warned us not to attempt it in socks as it is so slippery. The breakfast was very good and the house has lovely gardens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizfromNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Karaun House. We had a wonderfully friendly welcome and would have loved to have stayed longer. The room was clean and quiet with an excellent ensuite. It was a pleasure to be able to sit in a living room after a long day sight seeing.
The highlight for me was the entirely gluten free full Irish breakfast that Teresa cooked for me both mornings - a real treat.
Easily the best B & B during our Irish holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 609Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed only 1 night but our experience was really great. Quiet location, perfect cleanliness and friendly owners - that's what I expect from best B&Bs. We went for a 5 minute walk to see lovely sunset over Galway bay and then 20 minutes' walk to enjoy a pint of Guinness at Paddy Burkes. And what better way to start a day than having very nice Irish breakfast with a view on a beautiful garden. Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Though just staying for one night at Teresa's B&B I had a very comfortable stay in a nice room and with a great breakfast, while it's located closely to some of the most beautiful spots on Ireland's west coast. Would always recommend it to friends and will definitely come back the next time being in Ireland!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just spent one night at this lovely and immaculate B & B. It is in a quiet neighborhood and the home has a lovely garden. Moran Seafood Restaurant nearby is also a must! My husband and I were traveling with our son and new wife without reservations. We stopped late in the evening and were thrilled that they had availability. The rooms were lovely and everything needed was provided. It was our first B & B experience and everything we imagined. The owners were very friendly and gave us an insight in a real Irish home. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Friendly home owner had many suggestions of what to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleRockTennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacy, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I have been travelling around Ireland and staying in B & B's along the way. My husband is Coeliac and requires a gluten free diet which can be tricky to manage. When we arrived at Karaun House we were overwhelmed at the genuine warm welcome extended to us by Teresa. She had cooked gluten free treats for my husband and the whole time we were staying at Karaun, Teresa & Denny were lovely to us and made us feel like family.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top of the stairs. It was quiet and we could come and go without disturbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bon17m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenbridge
4.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
4.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Weir Haven
Weir Haven
#2 of 3 in Clarenbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clareview House
Clareview House
#3 of 14 in Kinvara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kinvara Inn B&B
Kinvara Inn B&B
#4 of 14 in Kinvara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaun House

Property: Karaun House
Address: Stradbally North | Clarinbridge, Clarenbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clarenbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clarenbridge
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi throughout our home. Free tea-making facilities in all rooms. Long-established, recently redecorated bed and breakfast in the Irish countryside, just a short stroll from the seaside. A warm home set in the Irish countryside, yet just a 15 minute walk from Clarenbridge and some excellent restaraunts. 20 Minutes drive from Galway city. A great base for exploring the burren and County Clare, Connemara, and the Aran Islands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karaun House Ireland/County Galway - Clarenbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing