We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing discovery”
Review of Weir Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weir Haven
Ranked #2 of 3 Clarenbridge B&B and Inns
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An amazing discovery”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My partner and I were coming to Galway for a triathlon and were due to be camping, at the last minute we decided that due to rain we wanted to stay somewhere warm and cosy rather than a cold tent.

We stumbled across Weir Haven on booking.com and quickly booked a room for 2 nights.

When we pulled into the driveway we knew we had come across a very special place. A stunning thatched cottage in beautiful gardens. Our hostess could not have been more welcoming as she greeted us with tea and freshly baked scones. The inside is as impressive as the outside, filled with antiques that had been carefully selected over the years.

Our room had everything we needed and so much more, including a steam room in the double shower, stunning views across the Weir and possibly one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

As we were new to Galway we asked for restaurant recommendations and every one of them was well with the visit from Morans Oyster Cottage just across the Weir to the Gallery Cafe in Gort and Oysters Fish Bistro in Galway. Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, even leaving us a breakfast when we had to leave at 6am to start the triathlon and letting us come back after our check out time to shower and rest.

If I lived near Weir Haven I am not sure I would ever leave....

Room Tip: All rooms were individually decorated with their own personal touch, not one of them is a disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redbeach748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Heaven in Haven! A haven of tranquility. The accommodation is just across the river from Moran's of the Weir. Maureen our hostess kindly gave us a lift across to Morans. Nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was full of antiques, very welcoming and will return very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We chose Weir Haven as we had a long-planned lunch engagement in one of our favourite restaurants, Morans Oyster Cottage, which is on the other side of the inlet. Our day started on a good note when our hostess offered to drive us around to Moranstap as to avoid waiting for a taxi. Our large ensuite room was very comfortable and well equipped. We had an early start the next morning and were on our way having been treated to a truly delicious breakfast with everything that one could want to eat. An excellent guesthouse which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whits52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

One nights stay is all we required. One night of peace and quiet, close to our favorite restaurant 'Moran's Oyster Cottage'. Shortly after being greeted by a wonderful host, we walked into an impressive, yet welcoming dinning room and study. Instantly we fell in love with this amazing building with incredible views of the weir and surrounding areas.
Our room was incredibly spacious, bright and airy, with a very large en-suite. The peace and tranquility was all we really needed. We got this and more.
We will be returning to this wonderful haven, of that there is no question.
Thanks to Kathleen for her warm hospitality. Our stay made us feel like we were at home.
Jason

Room Tip: If you decide to stay in Weir Haven, with the idea of a trip to the Famous Morans Oyster Cottage, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayOlivieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

What a find! We spent a wonderful weekend in Weir Haven. The house is furnished with beautiful antiques which are the perfect complement to the fairy-tale architecture. It was a delight to wake up in the beautifully furnished rooms. Best of all was the warmth of the welcome, and the quality of the breakfast. Great location; easy access to Galway and Connemara, and the Burren is just on the doorstep. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinglight80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Terrific experience here! This is a wonderfully charming home full of interesting features. We had 2 nights in superb comfort. We dined out at Morans Oyster Cottage , just across the water one evening and got a lovely warm welcome home from our hostess at Weir Haven on our return.Delicious home cooked full breakfast with the breads baked in the kitchen before our eyes!This is a real find and we will be back again next time in Galway.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I had booked this as a house rental for a five day stay. When we arrived the house looked as pretty as a postcard. Kathleen, the owner, met us and showed us round the property. She had left freshly baked scones and bread for us and we were made to feel most welcome. The inside of the house is a delight, it is a real feast for the eyes! There is lots of space. The kitchen is amazing, it has a four oven AGA which keeps it lovely and warm; if you enjoy cooking this will be the very place for you. The views from all the windows are breathtaking. The area is very quiet and peaceful, yet it is only a short drive to Galway city. By the way; the beds are really comfortable. Kathleen is very houseproud and the place is really clean. There is a lovely garden around the property which is very private and secure. There are two excellent restaurant bars about a mile away, Paddy Burke's and Morans. This house is ideal if you want something very special.

Room Tip: A good centre for exploring West Ireland
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray_Farley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenbridge
8.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
10.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
11.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 186 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weir Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weir Haven

Property: Weir Haven
Address: Tyrone Avenue | Kilcolgan, Clarenbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clarenbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clarenbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weir Haven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weir Haven is an old-world, thatched country lodge, situated in a tranquil setting at the edge of Galway Bay on the West Coast of Ireland. Once you drive through the entrance, you feel you are in a different world. You will be amazed by the unique fairy-tale design of the house, with its curved thatched roof, eyebrow windows, and climbing roses. The charming cottage gardens, nurtured with loving care, complete this oasis of peace, an ideal retreat from your busy life and is ideally located just twenty minutes from Galway City. The extra spacious luxury bedrooms are decorated in soft pastel colours and feature a beamed, horseshoe ceilings with handcrafted chandeliers. They have wool velvet carpets or polished floorboards and are furnished with quality beds, crisp white bed-linen, hand-painted furniture, interesting prints and paintings, Zoffany curtains and comfortable easy chairs and settees covered in designer fabric. The en-suite bathrooms have rainwater showers and marble tiles. The Weir Haven Luxury Breakfast Buffet includes fresh chilled orange juice, fresh fruits, granola and breakfast cereals, handmade yoghurts, cheese board, cold meat platter and fresh home-baked breads and preserves. This truly is a perfect base from which to explore the world-renowned Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Connemara. It is also only five minutes from Moran's Oyster Bar, one of the most famous lobster and oyster bars in Ireland. The lodge overlooks the Kilcolgan River, a tidal estuary featuring the famous Weir, with clear views of the neighbouring Kilcolgan Castle and Moran’s Oyster Cottage. It offers a peaceful retreat from the busy world and guests can relax in the spacious drawing room furnished with an eclectic mix of Victorian, Edwardian and French antiques and books. You can wander in the pretty cottage style gardens or perhaps enjoy a coffee or glass of wine or other refreshments on one of the terraces. Other areas of the garden are suitable for quiet reflection or meditation. The accommodation at Weir Haven is 5-star standard. Weir Haven is built on land steeped in history at Tyrone Avenue. The area formed part of St. George’s Estate dating back to the 17th century and the ruins of Tyrone House - a neo-classical cut stone mansion - is only 1 mile away, as is St. Sourney’s Church and Well - a religious site dating from the 6th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weir Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weir Haven Ireland/County Galway - Clarenbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing