We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Weir Haven
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lord Bagenal Inn(Leighlinbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
27
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthatched roofwonderful staythe owneroystersb bkathleenhousehome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This beautiful Thatch Country House is absolutely stunning,Homely,comfortable and immaculate.Fantastic breakfast,attentive service and little touches made our one night stay very memorable,We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable,beautifully designed with toileteries,dressing gowns and slippers.Our room had view of the Weir.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty8817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The title says it all, if you are in the area you must book in the Weir Haven.

From the stunning thatched cottage, beautiful gardens, individually designed rooms with views over the Weir, tasty Irish breakfasts to the perfect hostess everything about exceeded expectations.

A must stay when in Galway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My partner and I were coming to Galway for a triathlon and were due to be camping, at the last minute we decided that due to rain we wanted to stay somewhere warm and cosy rather than a cold tent.

We stumbled across Weir Haven on booking.com and quickly booked a room for 2 nights.

When we pulled into the driveway we knew we had come across a very special place. A stunning thatched cottage in beautiful gardens. Our hostess could not have been more welcoming as she greeted us with tea and freshly baked scones. The inside is as impressive as the outside, filled with antiques that had been carefully selected over the years.

Our room had everything we needed and so much more, including a steam room in the double shower, stunning views across the Weir and possibly one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

As we were new to Galway we asked for restaurant recommendations and every one of them was well with the visit from Morans Oyster Cottage just across the Weir to the Gallery Cafe in Gort and Oysters Fish Bistro in Galway. Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, even leaving us a breakfast when we had to leave at 6am to start the triathlon and letting us come back after our check out time to shower and rest.

If I lived near Weir Haven I am not sure I would ever leave....

Room Tip: All rooms were individually decorated with their own personal touch, not one of them is a disappointment
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redbeach748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Heaven in Haven! A haven of tranquility. The accommodation is just across the river from Moran's of the Weir. Maureen our hostess kindly gave us a lift across to Morans. Nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was full of antiques, very welcoming and will return very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We chose Weir Haven as we had a long-planned lunch engagement in one of our favourite restaurants, Morans Oyster Cottage, which is on the other side of the inlet. Our day started on a good note when our hostess offered to drive us around to Moranstap as to avoid waiting for a taxi. Our large ensuite room was very comfortable and well equipped. We had an early start the next morning and were on our way having been treated to a truly delicious breakfast with everything that one could want to eat. An excellent guesthouse which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whits52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews