We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation bliss”
Review of Weir Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weir Haven
Ranked #2 of 3 Clarenbridge B&B and Inns
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxation bliss”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The pictures don't lie. The property has a beautiful character to it which is tastefully decorated to give a warm homely and very comfortable feel. Each room was uniquely decorated and the blend of antique furniture with some contemporary fittings was well perfected. The bed and linen was very comfortable. The TV was not working but we didn't go on our break to watch TV so it wasn't an issue for us. Breakfast was of a very high quality and made a nice change from the normal Irish breakfast.

The locality is very picturesque and an ideal spot for a relaxing break. We would love to have stayed longer but hopefully the next time we will.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titanobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Beautiful house, lovely bright bedroom with great views. Very comfortable bed and bed linen. Downside...shower not great, TV didn't work but most importantly breakfast not good. On the first morning we could smell a cooked Irish breakfast from our bedroom but when we got to dining room we were told by owner that she doesn't do Irish breakfasts?? After we declined a ham omelette we decided on scrambled eggs which were totally overcooked. No homemade bread. What was totally confusing was the fact that we were offered rashers on the 2nd morning..we got 1 rasher each with poached egg. Don't go here if you are expecting good food. For the price I was expecting better breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeirHaven, Owner at Weir Haven, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your custom and we are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful house and found the accommodation to be of a high standard.

I am happy to try to address some of the issues raised by you:
We were not aware of any problem with the shower as you did not mention it.
In relation to the TV – as explained to you at the time, the previous guest had reset the TV controls and we were unable to rectify it immediately as it was a Bank Holiday weekend and the service engineer was not available until the following day.
Booking.com (through which you made your booking) and the Weir Haven website both clearly describe the breakfast we provide - which includes: fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, a selection of breakfast cereals, smoked salmon platter, cheeseboard, cold meat platter, selection of breads, toast, tea, coffee, honey and jams.
As none of this appeared to be to your liking we offered you additional items not normally on the menu. I apologise if the scrambled eggs did not meet your expectations but unfortunately you did not tell us at the time. We always provide a selection of breads, including homemade as we bake fresh bread in our kitchen daily. We are sorry if the breakfast size did not meet your expectations but we provided exactly what you requested. Our policy is never to skimp on quality or quantity and it is disappointing to hear that you felt this way.

Should you have mentioned any of these issues during your stay we would have done our utmost to accommodate you. However, if we are unaware of our guest’s issues it proves quite difficult for us.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This beautiful Thatch Country House is absolutely stunning,Homely,comfortable and immaculate.Fantastic breakfast,attentive service and little touches made our one night stay very memorable,We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable,beautifully designed with toileteries,dressing gowns and slippers.Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty8817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The title says it all, if you are in the area you must book in the Weir Haven.

From the stunning thatched cottage, beautiful gardens, individually designed rooms with views over the Weir, tasty Irish breakfasts to the perfect hostess everything about exceeded expectations.

A must stay when in Galway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My partner and I were coming to Galway for a triathlon and were due to be camping, at the last minute we decided that due to rain we wanted to stay somewhere warm and cosy rather than a cold tent.

We stumbled across Weir Haven on booking.com and quickly booked a room for 2 nights.

When we pulled into the driveway we knew we had come across a very special place. A stunning thatched cottage in beautiful gardens. Our hostess could not have been more welcoming as she greeted us with tea and freshly baked scones. The inside is as impressive as the outside, filled with antiques that had been carefully selected over the years.

Our room had everything we needed and so much more, including a steam room in the double shower, stunning views across the Weir and possibly one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

As we were new to Galway we asked for restaurant recommendations and every one of them was well with the visit from Morans Oyster Cottage just across the Weir to the Gallery Cafe in Gort and Oysters Fish Bistro in Galway. Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, even leaving us a breakfast when we had to leave at 6am to start the triathlon and letting us come back after our check out time to shower and rest.

If I lived near Weir Haven I am not sure I would ever leave....

Room Tip: All rooms were individually decorated with their own personal touch, not one of them is a disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redbeach748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Heaven in Haven! A haven of tranquility. The accommodation is just across the river from Moran's of the Weir. Maureen our hostess kindly gave us a lift across to Morans. Nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was full of antiques, very welcoming and will return very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We chose Weir Haven as we had a long-planned lunch engagement in one of our favourite restaurants, Morans Oyster Cottage, which is on the other side of the inlet. Our day started on a good note when our hostess offered to drive us around to Moranstap as to avoid waiting for a taxi. Our large ensuite room was very comfortable and well equipped. We had an early start the next morning and were on our way having been treated to a truly delicious breakfast with everything that one could want to eat. An excellent guesthouse which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whits52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenbridge
8.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
10.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
11.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 186 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weir Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weir Haven

Property: Weir Haven
Address: Tyrone Avenue | Kilcolgan, Clarenbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clarenbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clarenbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weir Haven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weir Haven is an old-world, thatched country lodge, situated in a tranquil setting at the edge of Galway Bay on the West Coast of Ireland. Once you drive through the entrance, you feel you are in a different world. You will be amazed by the unique fairy-tale design of the house, with its curved thatched roof, eyebrow windows, and climbing roses. The charming cottage gardens, nurtured with loving care, complete this oasis of peace, an ideal retreat from your busy life and is ideally located just twenty minutes from Galway City. The extra spacious luxury bedrooms are decorated in soft pastel colours and feature a beamed, horseshoe ceilings with handcrafted chandeliers. They have wool velvet carpets or polished floorboards and are furnished with quality beds, crisp white bed-linen, hand-painted furniture, interesting prints and paintings, Zoffany curtains and comfortable easy chairs and settees covered in designer fabric. The en-suite bathrooms have rainwater showers and marble tiles. The Weir Haven Luxury Breakfast Buffet includes fresh chilled orange juice, fresh fruits, granola and breakfast cereals, handmade yoghurts, cheese board, cold meat platter and fresh home-baked breads and preserves. This truly is a perfect base from which to explore the world-renowned Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Connemara. It is also only five minutes from Moran's Oyster Bar, one of the most famous lobster and oyster bars in Ireland. The lodge overlooks the Kilcolgan River, a tidal estuary featuring the famous Weir, with clear views of the neighbouring Kilcolgan Castle and Moran’s Oyster Cottage. It offers a peaceful retreat from the busy world and guests can relax in the spacious drawing room furnished with an eclectic mix of Victorian, Edwardian and French antiques and books. You can wander in the pretty cottage style gardens or perhaps enjoy a coffee or glass of wine or other refreshments on one of the terraces. Other areas of the garden are suitable for quiet reflection or meditation. The accommodation at Weir Haven is 5-star standard. Weir Haven is built on land steeped in history at Tyrone Avenue. The area formed part of St. George’s Estate dating back to the 17th century and the ruins of Tyrone House - a neo-classical cut stone mansion - is only 1 mile away, as is St. Sourney’s Church and Well - a religious site dating from the 6th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weir Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weir Haven Ireland/County Galway - Clarenbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing