We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word : perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside House B & B
Ranked #3 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word : perfect !”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went to Barbara's place thanks to one of our guide and it was the best advice ever !
This place is so lovely and warmful that we decided to stay a couple days instead of just one night.
Barbara and her husband make you feel part of their own family, the rooms are very cosy and the breakfast so delicious !
To finish, the price is quite good.
Go there, you won't regret it !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
It was so nice to welcome you to our family home for a couple of nights. Let's hope the weather is better next time for horse riding and walking up Mordán mountain!! Many thanks for posting a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent 4 days at family Maddens Hillside House; it was like coming home – the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and always fresh prepared. The house was in “good shape”, our room was well equipped with nice furniture’s, free WIFI worked well; every day new towels! Hillside House is located on a hill in a quite area; from our room we had a wonderful view over the bay; from the balcony you can enjoy the beautiful garden. We enjoyed our stay very much and would like to say thank you to the hosts Barbara and Patrick!! Last but not least it was fun to try to guess Patricks riddles, he loved to ask.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks so much for choosing Hillside House as your base to tour Connemara, We enjoyed making you feel at home in our family home. Your kind review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endwell, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Barbara and Patrick are very kind and welcoming, very willing to advise or share conversation. They take great pride in their home/B&B and it shows. If your looking for a comfortable, tranquil setting with some of the best scenery in Ireland, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We were delighted to meet both of you during your special trip for your anniversary celebrations this year..thanks so much for posting a review and for choosing to stay at Hillside House..you are welcome back any time..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a memorable stay. Both Barbara and Patrick were gracious, friendly and excellent hosts. They own a beautiful B&B with awesome views. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our chats with them and especially appreciated Patrick's thought provoking riddles and problem solving challenges. They are a charming couple and very hospitable. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Our travelling experience throughout Ireland was made more enjoyable having met this great couple. I strongly recommend staying a the The Hillside House B&B.

Humberto and Tamara, New York

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brook64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, the view and of course the challenging riddles! Patrick really enjoyed the chats too! Thanks so much for posting such a lovely review and all the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Never mind the location has the most amazing views of the hills and sea, the house is immaculate, the proprietors, Barbara and Patrick, are very hospitable, or the breakfast is delicious, Maggie and Annie are well worth the visit. I will recommend this place to everyone back home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loujeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks alot for you kind review and for choosing Hillside House during your stay in Ireland. You will be pleased to hear that our donkeys Maggie and Annie are doing great and loving the attention!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EU
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

From the moment of arrival to the time of departure Hillside is a haven of 'welcome' peace and tranquility. I highly recommend Hillside B&B to anyone from anywhere who is visiting the Carna Gaeltacht area. The information on the B&B website is extremely accurate. The B&B signposts are very well located throughout the adjacent area.

As an Old Age Pensioner the purpose of my visit to Connemara was to try and improve my speaking ability of a very limited knowledge of the Irish language. My priority before travelling from Wexford, was to find a comfortable homely B&B in a quiet location where speaking Irish/English might be spoken with people who would be sympathetic to 'my cause'.

Hillside House B&B in Carna turned out to have everything I wanted and more. Native irish speakers Barbara and Padraig proved to be the perfect hosts who have the gift of making all guests feel 'at home' with their immense store of local knowledge, good humour and in my case extreme understanding. The weather during my four day stay was most inclement but this in no way detracted from the enjoyment of my stay. The rain helped me to focus on the real purpose of my visit and prepare for my nightly efforts at conversing with Barbara and Padraig in Gaelic. They are teachers and mentors par excellence and I greatly appreciated their patience.

Meeting guests from the USA and Switzerland enhanced my visit. I look forward to returning to Hillside before long. In the meantime I will watch the television programmes on TG4 and the lovely presenters with renewed interest. Go raibh maith agaibh.

Room Tip: Lovely view from front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realtin1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Beidh fáilte ar ais romhat aríst a Frank am ar bith go Hillside House..we enjoyed having you stay at our home and thanks so much for posting your kind review. Beannachtaí ó Patrick agus Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights and the place was great. Room was very nice, clean and spacious for our needs with little touches to make you feel like home. Breakfast and service were excellent as well. Barbara and Patrick are very nice and friendly hosts and would love to see them again.

The location is a bit remote but it is lovely, especially waking up in the morning with a nice view of the bay. It is about one hour drive from Galway and about the same to Clifden. Plenty to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ftoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thanks for your kind words and lovely review - Patrick and Barbara would love to see you back at Hillside House sometime too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
5.7 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
184 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
16.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,591 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
14.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House B & B

Property: Hillside House B & B
Address: Kylesalia, Kilkieran, Carna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hillside House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing