We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very warm and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carna Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very warm and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

i stayed at this hotel in july 2012, and i thoroughly enjoyed the quiet cosyness of it. staff were extremely friendly, and the food was absolutely beautiful. management were very friendly and helpful and couldnt thank us enough. lovely getaway from the stresses of life.

Room Tip: this hotel is in a very remote part of ireland, the nearest town is about a forty minute drive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    48
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
54
59
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is really a great place to stay. the staff are fantastic and the owners are so very friendly and accommodating. Myself and my parents were staying there on a voucher, so I thought they may give us the simple basic treatment, but they really went all out for us, even to the extent of offering me a whole other double room to stay in at no extra cost! Certainly wasn't expecting that. The food was amazing, and the breakfast absolutely huge and positively mouthwatering. It is very rarely that I look forward so much to getting out of bed.
We felt right at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and the food in both the restaurant and the bar was excellent and good value. We chose the hotel because we had got a voucher and weren't expecting much but we were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountbellew
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We recently stayed here with our 12 year old son. It is such a friendly, homely hotel and so peaceful. The scenery is magnificent and so near to many beaches, Connemara National Park, Kylemore Abbey. We travelled as part of a special offer for three nights and it was a fantastic bargain, we definitely got our moneys worth and more.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs may have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a great time here - sew were made to feel very welcome. Great good, fantastic service. It is a great base for touring in Connemara and the surrounding area. It was also great value for money. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomConlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed here (2 adults & 2 childred ages 2,4) for 4 nights at the end of July and loved it. Staff nothing but friendly and courteous. We got a great deal on their own website to include dinner 2 nights and breakfast every day and tickets to the Kylemore Abbey, and we were more than happy. The breakfast had lots of choice and in a fine big dining room. Dinner was gorgeous too, 3 great sized courses in the set menu and plenty of choice, we loved the food.

They even moved furniture out of our room to accommodate a small bed for our youngest. My only problem with our room was the hot water got extremely hot and no shower hose to wash my hair, it meant having to wash it in the shower and couldn't shower small kids with a fixed shower head (no bath in this room), but really it's very little to moan about!

There was free wi-fi and it was great, you could use it in the lobby, bar and dinning room. Some of the rooms got it too, unfortunately ours was a little far away to get it.

The hotel is very remote with only a bar, pharmacy and 3 shops in the village/street, lol, but you are in the heart of the connemara gaeltacht, so don't be expecting a big nightlife scene! It is perfect for exploring the west and for quiet family breaks. If the area had a children's playground it would have been perfect! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception and you might get the free wi-fi in your room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leons82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The attitude of the staff in this hotel was what struck me most. First of all they all seemed to be local with lovely local accents and there were lots of them especially serving breakfast and dinner. Their smiles were genuine and you got the distinct feeling that their working environment was a very happy one. We were a party of six artists and unfortunately the weather forecast was not good. The lady at the desk very generously offered to cut off a portion of the bar for us should we be unable to get out the next day. Happily this was not necessary. There are no grounds, other than a car park, attached to the hotel. But within 4 miles there are countless little deserted, white sandy beaches, piers, harbours. We had single rooms - very comfortable, scalding hot water, long bath, a shower with the force of Niagra Falls and plenty of white fluffy towels. There was no shampoo, shower cap or other toiletrys. The food was delicious. Only complaint was that we ate too much. I think it would be fair to say the the general decor would not be chic or trendy but this is a family hotel and is a relief from the uniform sophistication of hotel chains. We stayed for three nights and had a most enjoyable time at the Carnabay and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyD130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
12.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
15.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
12.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
15.9 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
13.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Property: Carna Bay Hotel
Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing