We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carna Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here with a a group who were paintng the surrounding area, last week in June. What comes most to mind was the calls of the local cuckoos, from dawn to dusk, and we even saw one flying. It crossed my mind that the hotel should organize a Cuckoo Festival for guests to come and experience the call of the cuckoo, that has disappeared from so much of Ireland. The hotel itself was brillant, very friendly staff and management, with a wonderful breakfast and evening meal. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    53
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
55
67
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is an really special family hotel. So far removed from the Nama chain hotels and brings you
back in positive ways. The local staff not only know and love the area but speak Irish as their first
Language. Rooms simple yet spotless and comfortable. The beaches in the area are beyond
Description. The seafood fresh and a little big ;). You are not a customer, you are a guest and I
Do not often feel hat these days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damienf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent a lovely few days @ this hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt @home . The hotel staff are very friendly & welcoming in this family run hotel. It is situated in a quiet & relaxing place & is within easy reach of many interesting & beautiful places. I would definately recommend this hotel. It's great value for money into the bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilabyrne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This was a truly unique experience for myself, husband and small child. The staff is amazing here and helpful with anything you may need. Our dinners were the best we had in Ireland. Skilled Irish musicians greeted us in the in house pub Saturday night. Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing vacation and authentic Connemara experience. Situated in very scenic area, beaches and mountains definitely returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We had a group of high school girls with us on a horse trekking adventure. The hotel staff was so kind and accommodating to all of us. We couldn't have been happier with the service. The girls didn't want to leave this hotel. The food was delicious---so much of it! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Myself and my fiancée stayed here for a relaxing weekend in April 2013. We found the staff very kind and welcoming...We didn't like the ground floor room we were given as we had no view and there was no problem changing to another room with great views. The decor is a bit dated but it is warm and cosy...the food -breakfast and dinner was very tasty and very generous portions... We would highly recommend this hotel, it is a lovely place to stay as a base for travelling around stunning Connemara and it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor or above towards front of hotel to avail of the beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL43cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We booked this for three days in march and were delighted with their 'special' which included 2 dinners at a great price. The heart of this place are the down to earth staff, i just felt so comfortable there, it was really like home. As the food is served in the bar, we could stay with our breakfast and read the paper for as long as we liked which we too full advantage of, no rushing to clear the table. The hotel itself is an old style Irish one, not posh but homely and spotless. The staff were never intrusive just genuine and with real Irish warmth. Food was good and plentiful and the pace relaxed. Not a lot to do around except to enjoy the beautiful scenery and small bays which suited our jaded minds greatly. We left hefty tips for the waiting and room staff and still felt delighted with it all. A great place to chill and have a rest away from it all.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front, sunny and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol2cmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
12.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
15.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
126 reviews
20.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
707 reviews
18.8 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Property: Carna Bay Hotel
Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing