We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average place, nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bake House

The Bake House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Cashel
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average place, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner went here for afternoon tea. The place was fine, the service was average. Good for people watching if you get a seat near the window. The cakes are average, but the one thing that brought the place down was the tea. The tea was awful, so much so we didn't drink it. Seems to me like the cheapest of cheap tea bags are used. Disappointing overall visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aoife D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice respite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

After touring the Rock of Cashel, a friend and I found the Bake House (a short walk away).
The main floor is a take away shop, but if you go upstairs there is a tea room. Perfect for a mid morning or mid afternoon pick-me-up. Service is counter style. Nothing overly fancy in the offerings, but the tea is piping hot, the sandwiches fresh and filling, and the scones and cakes were fresh and tasty.
Decor is snug and cozy. Chairs and tables are a bit mismatched. As someone previously mentioned, a little dated, but that only makes it seem cozier. If you like Shabby Chic style, this is similar, only without the chinz.
The staff was friendly. The food filling and tasty. A nice way to pass a bit of time after taking in the local history.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for a cup of tea and a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I stopped in here looking for a place to get a hot drink and a snack. The service was welcoming and the tiny tea room was clean. I had tea and my friend had hot chocolate, and we both got a nice treat from the bakery. The cakes were lovely and everything was a good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, value and variety.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stopped off in the bake house on our way to Waterford. We got lunch made of delicious homemade soup, with fresh brown soda bread. Followed by a warm sweet chilli chicken wrap and side salad (great variety). And finished off with a lovely cappucino and gorgeous muffin. Staff were friendly and efficient. The bathrooms were spotless and the decor was lovely. Will definitely call again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsocallagahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes, place a bit dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

When we arrived to this little cafe, it looked like it was closed - bare display cabinets and lights off downstairs. We would have walked past only a local walked in in front of us and headed upstairs to the cafe. The decor was very dated, old fashioned carpets, light fittings and wallpaper but it worked here.
The serving area was anything but modern and I would imagine it would get very cramped at peak times. Food presentation was basic - a selection of buns in a box and a poor looking deli section. All we wanted was coffee and cake and all cakes chosen were delicious and generously sized. Coffee was strong and hit the spot. The place was busy which is usually a good sign in a small town and as we watched people ordered sandwiches which were freshly made and again were huge and looked very tasty. A nice place for a quick energy-boosting snack before the trek up to the Rock.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dr0ginexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bake House also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to The Bake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing