We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Tea and very dirty place to eat”
Review of The Bake House

The Bake House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horrible Tea and very dirty place to eat”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My girlfriend and I came in here to get some tea and cake. When I went up to order, the service was all over the place, they handed me a jug of milk which had just been used by another table, I asked for it to replaced which she did, but I thought that was very unhygienic. We got our tea and sat down upstairs where there was less noise. There was a staff member cleaning the tables right next to us spraying polish all over us while we were eating. I had to tell her to stop it. The tea tasted gone off. either the milk was gone off or they use the cheapest t bags ever made. It was horrible. Stay away from this place unless you like to eat in filth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For discerning Galtees hikers”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, delicious home baking, good coffee, and great to find open first thing Sunday morning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average place, nothing special”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner went here for afternoon tea. The place was fine, the service was average. Good for people watching if you get a seat near the window. The cakes are average, but the one thing that brought the place down was the tea. The tea was awful, so much so we didn't drink it. Seems to me like the cheapest of cheap tea bags are used. Disappointing overall visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aoife D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice respite”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After touring the Rock of Cashel, a friend and I found the Bake House (a short walk away).
The main floor is a take away shop, but if you go upstairs there is a tea room. Perfect for a mid morning or mid afternoon pick-me-up. Service is counter style. Nothing overly fancy in the offerings, but the tea is piping hot, the sandwiches fresh and filling, and the scones and cakes were fresh and tasty.
Decor is snug and cozy. Chairs and tables are a bit mismatched. As someone previously mentioned, a little dated, but that only makes it seem cozier. If you like Shabby Chic style, this is similar, only without the chinz.
The staff was friendly. The food filling and tasty. A nice way to pass a bit of time after taking in the local history.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for a cup of tea and a treat”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I stopped in here looking for a place to get a hot drink and a snack. The service was welcoming and the tiny tea room was clean. I had tea and my friend had hot chocolate, and we both got a nice treat from the bakery. The cakes were lovely and everything was a good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bake House also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to The Bake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing