We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accessible B&B for people with limited ability” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rossroe Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accessible B&B for people with limited ability”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our second visit to Rossroe Lodge, and it did not disappoint. Mary and Sylvain are excellent hosts and a very friendly homely feel. As there are not many places disabled travellers can experience without some difficulty I want to say that Rossroe is accessible, my powerchair (wider than a wheelchair) managed to make it up to their patio area. Inside if you use a walker/sticks everything is on the level (I think 2 rooms are available also on the level) and a very cosy sitting room. The shower has no step up to it - yeah! and does have a handrail.
I would advice that you do book a meal with the excellent chef Sylvain, his children catch the fish and he cooks it - how enterprising is that!
The road is gorgeous for a walk, the views are spectactualar, I would advice turning left at the entrance to the house (ignore this advice if you are able bodied, there are stones to the right) and there is a gorgeous small harbour which was great fun to speed about.
Beautiful, hassle free! yippee!

Room Tip: The bedrooms on the level are good for disabled travellers. The bed was soft for my back but that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Rhonda,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your stay here with us. It was lovely to welcome you back for a second stay! It is also great that you felt it easy to get around our home and that you enjoyed whizzing around outside too!

Hope you make it down to stay with us soon.

Warm regards,
Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
109
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

On our trip through Ireland I wanted to stay at least one night in a remote place. Went on a website for B&B's and found this. It matched and exceeded my expectations! The trip there was a bit dramatic, mostly because we've had a day of driving already behind us, the roads were really narrow and we had the first rain. But the trip was absolutely woth it. The house is facing the sea in a beautiful spot. The B&B itself is still quite new and looks and feels warm and welcoming. The bed was good, not too soft (as has happened elsewhere), the shower was huge and the sitting room cosy. The hosts were very friendly despite the busy time. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Allataria,
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was lovely to hear such wonderful things from you. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location and scenery. As you pointed out we are in quite a remote location but it is so worth it when you get here!

Again thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope to have you stay here with us again some time.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Fantastic location, wonderful hosts, great meals - we booked for two nights but stayed for three as we enjoyed it so much (and would have stayed longer if we weren't committed). The remote location and views were wonderful and the rooms were comfortable. Thoughtful details such as the reference books in the lounge and the welcome coffee and scones were appreciated. We'd love to come back if we can.

John and Sally, Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Sally M,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and also that you decided to stay an extra night! Its always good to hear that people enjoy the service they receive here and that you also appreciated the books on what to do around beautiful Connemara.

Once again many thanks and hope to see you here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed there for 2 night in May 2013. This house is located at the end of the world or almost but it is well worth the additional miles to go there. Great place, great hosts. Just a little sad to get the room at the back without the amazing view on the sea (but with such a view I would have stayed in my room because it is truly beautifull if you are lucky enough to get the front room. I had a ground floor room view a view on the back of the house which means that it lacked a bit of privacy but nevertheless a very nice room, very clean as usual in Ireland.
I had dinner there one night and it was nice but nothing exceptional to be honest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisianAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge. We are very pleased you liked the house and location so much.
Unfortunately we could not offer you the room with a seaview as it had been booked (and requested) many weeks prior to your booking. Our seaview rooms are very popular and tend to be booked up well in advance.
All our rooms are very quiet and we try to offer as much privacy as possible and we are very sorry that you felt your room was not very private.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your dinner here also. Sylvain is a trained chef having worked in France and Ireland for many years in the catering industry. We strive to use only fresh, local and seasonal products. We grow our own vegetables (when possible due to Irish weather! ) organically and we endeavour to provide a memorable meal for all our guests. We have had a very positive feedback from all our guests in regards to our evening meals here at Rossroe Lodge.
We would like to thank you again for staying with us.

Mary & Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Connemara in western Ireland is wild and wonderful. Rossroe B&B is near the dead end of a narrow road near Roundstone. We (our adult daughter traveled with us) spent two nights here and our host (who is willing to cook dinner with advance notice) provided a sumptuous three course dinner on our second night. This environmentally friendly home overlooks a bay. This family is welcoming and hospitable. We will stay here again if we ever are able to come back to Connemara.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would be more than happy to have you stay with us again if you do return to Connemara.
Once again many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Fabulous stay!
Mary and Sylvain are very friendly and helpful, the room was really nice, and homemade breakfeast wonderful!

The location is really beautiful and quiet, perfect to explore Connemara.

We'll be back for sure.

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colonelhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. That's what keeps us ticking! So we will be delighted to have you back at our home when you visit Connemara again. See you soon!
Mary & Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We loved our stay at Roscoe Lodge last week. We were made welcome by the owners and the accommodation was extremely nice and the rooms completely clean. The cuisine was amazing! We also met a lovely, interesting american couple there !

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Mary and Sylvain.
Rossroe Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
7.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#1 of 1 in Recess
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cashel House Hotel
Cashel House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cashel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 12 in Roundstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossroe Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossroe Lodge B&B

Property: Rossroe Lodge B&B
Address: Rossroe, Cashel H91 V20K, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossroe Lodge is a family home situated in Cashel, in the heart of Connemara (Co.Galway). It offers great comfort with fantastic views of Cashel Bay. Private lounge with real turf fire. An ideal base for discovering Connemara. Evening meals available on request.French spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rossroe Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossroe Lodge B&B Cashel, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing