We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”
Review of Rossroe Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We only stayed 1 night with our 8-year old son, because we were on a tight travelling schedule through all of Ireland, but we would have loved to stay longer. Beautiful location, surrounded by nature, breathtaking views of the lake, all peace and quiet. Our hosts were friendly and modest, welcomed us with tea and cake, we had the triple room upstairs. I thought it might be a bit small, looking at the pictures, but it was perfect, very private. I would definitely choose this room again.We slept with both windows open and a pleasant cold breeze entered our room. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good. I would have loved the possibility to have breakfast outside on their wooden terrace with those beautiful lakeviews and fresh air, but I suppose some guests might find it chilly. Next time we will definitely try Silvain´s menu. Lovely place!

Room Tip: For a couple with a child I would definitely recommend the upstairs triple room. It´s the only room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Hello Christa P,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We re very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our triple room and that it suited your needs so well.
Breakfast on the decking while enjoying the view of the sea is always a possibility although weather does have to be taken into account as you so rightly said!

Thank you also for taking the time to notice how we went about building our home and what little things we all can do to be a little "greener".

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Rossroe Lodge is a small B&B but its welcome, accommodation, food, and peaceful scenic location are of the highest quality. It is totally 'away from it all', a couple of miles (or about 4-5km) down a tiny, winding, cul-de-sac road overlooking Cashel Bay in Connemara. Complete quiet, absolutely beautiful view, no parking problems. It's run by a young Hiberno-French couple who really care about good food and the environment. They'll give you walking and cycling routes, packed lunches, will cook you dinner (pre-book that) and look after you so well that you'll want to stay longer and definitely want to return. Breakfast was delicious, so good that it broke the ice and everyone in the room wanted to chat and compare plans for the day. What a civilised way to live!

Room Tip: rooms at the front have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happyout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here. We are really happy that you appreciated all we do here to help guests plan their trip and our "green-ness" also. Thank you for mentioning our charging point too. We look forward to have our first guests use it and many more in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in Rossroe Lodge with 3,5 year old son - he loved the trampoline:) Fabulous setting, easy to find (we still use maps:), Mary and Sylvain great hosts. Very nice evening meal and breakfast.
We enjoyed our short stay and would recommend the B&B to everyone!
Thank you / Merci beaucoup!
Agnieszka, Graham and Christopher, UK

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnieszka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Agnieszka C,

Thank you for your review of your stay here with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your time here and we would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. The room was adequate but not spectacular. Food was very good. Our room had a large window looking at the back of the yard. The owners young daughter would ride her bike in our view. The room needed blinds for privacy. Nice people. French spoken by everyone but us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello Johanna B,

Thank you for your review of your stay here with us.

In response to some of your queries I would like to point out that this is first and foremost our home. Our children, when they can, play outside, ride their bikes/scooters and generally have fun. If this was an inconvenience to you both I do apologise. Our 3 children know to not disturb our guests and most likely our daughter (who is 4) was only busy riding her bike.

We will be fitting blinds to our rooms to give people more privacy in the next few days.

All other rooms were occupied by French speaking people on the nights you stayed. Connemara is a very popular destination for all nationalities and we are proud to welcome people from all over the world.

We always appreciate our guests feedback.

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here with my elderly parents and could not have wished for a better place. We knew it was in a remote spot but it is very easy to drive to and once there there was no need to look for somewhere to eat. Sylvain an Mary were excellent hosts and the evening meal was restaurant standard. Breakfast was good. Could have easily stayed longer but on a schedule. Highly recommend this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Upstairs room has a side view of the sea. Downstairs front room has a front view of the sea. Two dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello Terrynev,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your time here with us. We are very happy you enjoyed it. Hopefully next time you can stay longer, we'd be happy to have you here.

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This establishment deserves all the accolades it gets. It's isolated, but within driving distance of many other places. The hosts, Mary and Sylvain, are charming, helpful and attentive, and Sylvain is a wonderful cook - breakfast and dinner are experiences in themselves. The ocean view is beautiful, the lodge is new, comfortable and very eco-friendly, and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Staying here is an experience not to be missed if you enjoy a quiet rural environment with welcoming hosts and great food.

Room Tip: There is only one bedroom with an ocean view so ask for the front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Darwin_AustraliaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.
We appreciate very much that you took the time to do so. We are very happy that you enjoyed the meals here at Rossroe Lodge too. We hope to be able to welcome you back here some time in the future!

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's remote and lovely, run by an Irish woman and her French husband who cooked us a delicious gourmet breakfast. It's right by the bay with many nice walks around, and a short drive away from the spooky round stone bog. It's an ecologically friendly place to boot!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sundial J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Sundial J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here.

Warm regards,

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
4.1 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
7.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
5.2 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
202 reviews
11.2 mi away
Connemara National Park Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossroe Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossroe Lodge B&B

Address: Rossroe, Cashel H91 V20K, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossroe Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossroe Lodge is a family home situated in Cashel, in the heart of Connemara (Co.Galway). It offers great comfort with fantastic views of Cashel Bay. Private lounge with real turf fire. An ideal base for discovering Connemara. Evening meals available on request.French spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rossroe Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossroe Lodge B&B Cashel, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing