We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT COTTAGE”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of 222- Cashel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cashel, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandy650
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT COTTAGE”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I think the two reviews posted are quite unfair for this cottage! We stayed for a week at the end of July and had a fantastic experience. The Cottage is a very spacious 4 bedroomed house with so much space it feels even larger. Each room is en-suite and it is very well built as we couldn't hear a thing from any room at night! We were two teenagers and 5 adults. All of the beds were very comfortable and everything was clean and tidy on arrival. The living space is very spacious and comfortable and the kitchen is the best stocked kitchen of any cottage we have ever rented. There's a separate utility room too which is very helpful. Mary Ellen, the housekeeper, was super helpful and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The washing machine wasn't working when we arrived but the local hotel two mintues away did our laundry (it's owned by the same people) and the new washing machine was in place within 3 days which is impressive for deepest darkest Connemara!
The views from the cottage are stunning and we saw some fabulous sunsets. I would definitely recommend this cottage for a family or group getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkyTom
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An ideal base for discovering The Wild Adlantic Way and Connemara”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for a week and were prepared for the isolated location
albeit Cashel House Hotel was next door and other amenities a
short drive away. We only used one bedroom during our stay and found
it to be comfortable and clean. The kitchen and facilities were of a good standard
and would not nit pick over the odd cobweb. Our Dog was welcome and had room
both in and out (we respected the carpets and furniture) Mary the on site Lady met
us and explained the workings of the house and also gave us travel tips and advice for the area. She also gave us her home telephone number which was helpful.
Enjoyed our Stay immensely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review, which is much appreciated and we hope that Shamrock Cottages can be of assistance again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This house has such potential but is unclean & neglected. It's a spacious home, warm & with a good view but there were cobwebs, spiders and dust everywhere, the windows were unclean and most of the furniture & carpets are dated, damaged and well used. The mattresses on all 5 of the beds are in very poor condition, although the bed linen was clean.
It's advertised as having spacious gardens but these were over grown, had nettles & the path, fencing and table were unsafe which was disappointing as we had 5 children with us on holiday. The description also says the house has a range, this is true but it comes in a very unclean state and with a sticker attached saying it's not to be used, again disappointing. The house sleeps 9 people and has plenty of room in the bedrooms & ensuites. It was frustrating however that there was not enough chairs for all 9 of us to sit at the dining table or sit in the living room, even a few bean bags would have been adequate. The DVD player also didn't work and after we emailed a lady called to say she couldn't help, even though we where there for 7nights a repair or replacement wasn't given. This was frustrating as after exploring the beautiful surroundings by day the children had bought dvds for the evenings. This house needs a deep clean, a visit from a gardener and some new furniture and carpets. We will visit Galway again but sadly not this house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our house has been rented via Shamrock Cottages for over 7 years now and we are saddened to read your comments following your stay in August.
The range is in perfect working order and has been recently serviced in the beginning of 2017. There is a note not to turn on one of the slider switches as it does not turn on the central heating as some people might believe. The note is to let people know not to turn on the incorrect switch. The range was checked and clean prior to your arrival. The range was not used the week prior as the previous family only used the electric oven.
We have a dining table with 6 matching chairs and there are 3 golden coloured chairs dotted through the house with enough for 9 people.
The sitting room has couch seating for 6 people and the aforementioned 3 golden covered chairs seat 9.
We do have a DVD player and a selection of children's DVD's available with board games. Unfortunately, it seems our TV and DVD player were both broken within a few days of each other and while we had a small replacement TV delivered, we were unable to source a temporary DVD player. We did receive a new 40" TV but unfortunately, the DVD player was not delivered with the TV. In fact, we are still waiting for the delivery of said DVD player. One of the few drawbacks of being located in scenic Connemara I'm afraid.
Over the years we have only received great praise for our House Keeper who keeps our house spotless and who always goes above and beyond to assist those families staying. We are sorry if your experience was otherwise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cashel hotels

Buncrana, Ireland
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our house has been rented via Shamrock Cottages for over 7 years now and we are very saddened to read your comments following your stay in August. Over the years we have only received great praise for our House Keeper who keeps our house spotless and who always goes above and beyond to assist those families staying. We are very sorry if your experience was otherwise.
We do update the property every year where needed and have recently painted the house and changed curtains in 2 rooms. Being based in Connemara unfortunately means we do not have quick access to replacement electronics. Our housekeeper knew you were very upset without the TV and arranged for it to be temporarily replaced with a borrowed second hand 30" TV while we waited for over a week for delivery of a new 40" Flat Screen which is now in place.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused but ordered a replacement as soon as we could have one delivered and installed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing