We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zetland Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed a night at the Zetland with my parents, we took two double rooms. As a country house hotel, its expected that the decor be shabby and comfortable, and it was certainly comfortable. Everything was very clean in the rooms and common areas, the sitting room was warm and welcoming and I spent a few hours curled up in front of the fire on my laptop while my parents enjoyed the live music in the bar. The food was lovely and the service really could not be better, everyone is so friendly and chatty, full of local knowledge, and keen to make sure you're having a nice stay.

If you're looking for a comfortable base from which to explore Connemara, I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was right above the sitting room, where there was a fire going all evening, and as a result...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_punk_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    17
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My son and I traveled through Ireland and stayed 2 nights at the Zetland.At first we thought it might be kind of a stuffy place but were very pleasantly surprised.The hotel has a very lively pub attached to it (that the locals obviously enjoy!)We heard irish music and enjoyed watching people and children dance.The staff was excellent and very friendly (esp. Pamela.) The owner Colm was great! He took my son fishing for hours and set us up in some great fishing spots.All in all a great stay!Also the grounds are lovely!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I feel I have to write this review for two reasons, the first been to disagree with the review of Klaus 37Who obvious has no comparisons of a world without materialism, I was at the Zetland Hotel For my very first visit the last week of June of this year. And found it to be very well decorated in the style that is suitable to its environs. Country, with art work on the walls, it was a mix of both local work, which I love to see showing on the walls in such a fine hotel, and some very original pieces.
I was fortunate enough to be up early and the amount of staff busy at work, cleaning. They were pleasant and made sure that all downstairs was complete by 7.30am as not to disturb guests who like me like to read my newspaper in peace.
I love to walk and was delighted when the receptionist was not offend when I stepped in the front door with my dirty shoes, she very quickly and politely handed me a bag to place my shoes in. And told me not to worry. She was out with a small vacuum straight away; I must say I was the embarrassed one as I had carried dirt in to the foyer that was immaculately clean. The surrounds of the Zetlands is a fantastic place to walk or hike, and return to beautiful clean, large, peaceful rooms and wonderful food. Dining in the big dining room with specular view across the bay was out of this world. The craic in the bar with the locals was amazing. I would very much recommend this fine establishment. With regards to the owner who is a man of straight talking and good humour, was the first person I’ve meet who takes the time to spent with his quests and is very good to staff, which is reflected in the pleasant atmosphere within the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyAnn275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We ( a couple) stayed here some weeks ago ( early June). My first impression was that we had arrived at the back door, we entered the lobby where yes the receptionist was very friendly. We arrived at our room, I think we must be in the old part, there was a lingering damp smell, the decor was very 1980's, you could see the damp behind the wall paper. The room itself was very spacious but in desparate need of a revamp. We walked into the dining room and decided that we would not eat here as it looked grubby, for example the large windows in the dining room looked like they hadn't had a good clean in over a year. The breakfast room seemed to be part of the bar and again it was very 1980's and could do with a revamp. There is a beautiful view from the hotel but the grounds seem a little neglected, some bits looked OK and others not. I don;t like being so negative but I feel I have to give this review as we chose this hotel based on the other reviews here and I honestly could not agree with most of the reviews here. Maybe it depends on what you are looking for but given the cost of this hotel ( its not cheap!) I would expect the claenliness standards to be higher, also I would expect a reasonable standard of decor in the room, not faded upholstery and damp peeping through the wall paper. The lounge again is a very big room but a mish mash of worn looking furniture and some very cheap paintings on the wall interspersed with some nice paintings. We met the owner who seems a pleasant enough chap although he did repeat the same stock phrases everytime we bumped into him. Overall we very both very disappointed with the quality of our accommodation and I can honestly say we were glad to leave. Sorry to say I won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and cannot praise highly enough the friendly service and attention to detail we received from all the staff.
The hotel went out of its way to make us feel so welcome. We stayed in rm 10 which is huge and has fantastic views of the bay. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was very good, although menu is a little limited. The hotel's bar comes alove in the evening and there was some great music and a fun atmosphere into the early hours. Colm (the owner) is a top man with a surprisingly fine voice!
The hotel has fishing rights to many of the local lochs and streams and I will definitely return to explore these further.
All told, we could not fault the stay here and I'm trying to find time in the calendar to return for some serious fishing.

Room Tip: Our only experience is of room 10, which is huge, well appointed and has great views overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redseasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for one night during a week long cycling trip in May. We were actually the hotel's only guests at the time, so it was pretty quiet. It was cold and raining during our bike ride, so we were relieved to arrive to a roaring fire in the front lobby. Everyone was very friendly and paid attention to all the little details that made our stay very enjoyable.
We stayed in one of the more modern suites with a fantastic view of the grounds, and it was tastefully decorated with a few vintage touches (but nothing too old-fashioned). The bathroom was huge, with a jet tub as well as a walk in shower with 360 degree shower heads.
Although I got a bit of a Shining vibe at times, I'm pretty sure it had to do with being out in the country and being the only guests.
We also met the manager and owner, Collum, during our stay, and he invited us to have drinks with him after our dinner. All in all, everyone went out of their way to ensure that we received the best customer service possible. We will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backmask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed here for work recently, whereas most people would stay for leisure purposes. Its not particularly suited for a business hotel but I imagine its ideal for touring or local sports purposes.

Food was very good, bar was very well stocked although I didn't get to sample much. Room was OK, large but a little dated - but you're not likely to spend much time in them if here for leisure.

I think this hotel has changed hands since some of the older reviews, at least the dinner prices have halved since the 2008 ones

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
6.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
16.1 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
5.7 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
10.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
10.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zetland Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zetland Country House Hotel

Property: Zetland Country House Hotel
Address: Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zetland Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Zetland Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zetland Country Hotel
Zetland Country Cashel
Zetland Country House Hotel Cashel, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing