We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceptive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zetland Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceptive”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

First of all, it is a beautiful country house property, with perfect location, lovely grounds, nice website and you pay rates comparable to any luxury country house property... and has very friendly staff.

However, luxury it is emphatically not. It has not been properly maintained (i.e., to high standards) for ages and that shows - both in the exterior and inside the rooms. It would have been perfectly acceptable as a country B&B if it was at a reasonable rate but for the price we were paying, we should really have been staying at Cashel House or at Ballynahinch and to say that this place can't hold a candle to Cashel House or Balllynahinch is an understatement.

The food was just about ok but pricey and not value for money - they have a local pub at the back of the hotel which had great atmosphere - felt like the owner really enjoyed running the pub ad the hotel is a side business that he didn't care much about.

Not staying here the next time I'm in Connemara.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Poribrajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    17
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First Impressions-Dodgy...Rolled up the driveway with a few friends for a couple of nights sightseeing in this great area, in July. House looked a bit shabby with cracked unpainted window frames and windows that need a good wash...getting out of car with that sinking feeling!!!

Reception-Met with a friendly face...maybe this will be better. Quickly checked in and brought to our room...maybe its ok ?

Room-.Not the best and this is their superior room. Back to the seventies furniture and whats that...a nylon duvet. Wheres the country house linen. weve been duped!!. The sinking feeling has landed. Curtains are tatty and torn-looks dishevelled. Bed is rock hard and there is a faint musty smell-not somewhere Im going to be staying for long in.

Area-go for a walk and the area around here is beautiful.Cant fault the location. Maybe the room is just a blip as we head back to the bar to have a spot of lunch. Public bar attached to hotel is very "Quiet man" no luxury but atmosphere is good so we order some grub.

Food-Mixed result in bar. Chowder is lovely but the lasagne is gooey and unpalatable. Our other friend has Lamb which is also on the poor side. Still locals and bar staff are friendly and the owner is buzzing around talking to everybody and working his charm. Guess this is the way around here but its no country house-seems more like a B&B attached to a pub.

Breakfast-seems fine but served in a small shabby room off the side of the bar. They have a lovely room for Dinner but they serve you in this shabby place!! Mind you last night they said they serve dinner but they didnt open the lovely dining room-no idea why. As the food is not so nice we decide to skip dinner here and head further a field.

Overall-This is no country house. It needs major refurbishment to count in the class that caters in this niche market, having stayed at a few other country houses this one is the bottom. Most make major efforts and you get the feeling they are working hard to provide a real alternative to the bland modern Hotel chains. The linen, the food, the cutlery, the ambience of a bygoone era-not here my traveller friend. The owner will charm you with his tall tales but ultimately they overcharge here and its no way a four star establishment-very disapointing.

Im not going to complain just write a truthful review and leave with a smile. Thats what I did in the hope the owners read this and realise the error of their ways-overpriced B&B and thats been complimentary to many B&Bs which are much finer places. This isnt one of them. Who gave them the four stars I wonder as I drive out of here as fast as I can!

Owners-Not everybody complains-some vote with their feet ....and their PC !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paddyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Was my fist time to visit this hotel yesterday as our classic car club had arranged it as our lunch stop off with the hotel. Over 100 of us arrived to find staff totally disorganised, only 1 option for lunch, 3 course €25 , told by floor staff , 'that's it, or you can have a scone and tea'. After waiting 30 minutes to place an order, told it would be 30-40 minutes before our chowder would be served, we left and went to Cashel House , what a difference 2 miles can make! Great staff, prompt service and much better value. Guess which establishment we will return to???

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Looneytuams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Myself and my future husband stopped by here on a drive through the wonderful Connemara. We stopped for some light refreshments but ended up staying for some hours and having dinner. The atmosphere was fantastic and we were made to fell very welcome... it felt like coming home to mums... We were shown to a very quaint room off the side of the bar which we found to be relaxing and we were able to enjoy the wonderful view. We met Colm the owner and enjoyed a chat and giggle with him... He really made us feel welcome and I am glad we had the opportunity to meet him.. The food was to die for....!!! We had the freshest of produce and the service was literally impecible. I cannot compliment the kitchen enough for what was put infront of us.. I think the real hidden gem here is hiding in the kitchen....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Arrived late after a long drive, tired and cold (it was June in Connemara!) Main restaurant had closed, so Colm and staff organised food from the bar menu, a table beside the fire, and even an electric blanket on our bed.
We'd booked a superior room, which was spacious, clean, unfussy and comfortable. There was virtually no noise around the hotel, so sleep was undisturbed.
Breakfast was served in a small room adjoining the bar. This is a bit of a let down, as it gives a bit of a B&B feel, which goes against the country house hotel image which is clearly how the hotel wants to portray itself. The cooked breakfast itself was fine, but maybe lacked some of the elements you would normally expect in upmarket country house hotels (eg, proper preserves, soda bread, croissants etc).
We had dinner in the main dining room on the second evening.This room is very nice and should be a major asset as it is nicely laid out and there are lovely views to the garden and the bay. But we had mixed feelings on dinner. Starters were so-so. My wife had mussels (nice) and I had duck (mediocre at best). After dinner drinks in the drawing room was relaxing and once again a fire was lit for us.
So, in summary, staff making a big effort, reasonably pleasant surroundings. Peaceful and quiet. Not quite as "grand" as other country house hotels. No major problem then. But.... Zetland is competing in a high end, speciality market and there are other similarly priced properties within a short drive who do this with just a bit more polish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbg1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is an old world hotel with wonderful old fashioned rooms.
The whole place is very accomodating with a folksie bar and a grand side to the hotel as well.
the owner is Colm Redmond a charming wonderful host .Be his friend and you will have a fantastic time.
The area around the hotel is probably the most wonderful scenic place in south connemara,come rain or shine.
Go hungry and tired and relax and enjoy

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvisDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stopped off here for a drink while out for a drive around connemara! Decided to sit in the lounge area off the bar. After getting our drinks a staff member came into the lounge and asked us to move into the public bar as this area was for residents only. Couldn't believe the rudeness of this. It was 5 o'clock on a Sunday evening and the place was empty. We often stop off in hotels around the country when out for a drive and would usually sit in the lounge or lobby. Won't be going back or recommending this place to friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJCof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
6.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
181 reviews
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
126 reviews
16.1 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
707 reviews
11.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zetland Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zetland Country House Hotel

Property: Zetland Country House Hotel
Address: Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zetland Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zetland Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zetland Country Hotel
Zetland Country Cashel
Zetland Country House Hotel Cashel, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing