We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zetland Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$275
US$268
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
US$465
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
85
17
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
17
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunexpected treathuge treatwarm hospitalityold worldother guestsmartinaleylandredmondconnemarairelandretreatturf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2009

A huge thanks to all at the Zetland who catered for our wedding in January. The genuine attentive service at all levels was a revelation for our guests. International guests were especially bowled away. The chef catered for 80 people (many of whom are 'foodies).Guests agreed that it was one of the best meals they have ever eaten in their lives. For us, the bride and groom, our demands were many on how we wanted things to look, taste, sound.... and our expectations were surpassed at every level.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moffireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

This hotel needs a serious makeover and is not up to four star standard. The prices they charge do not reflect the fact that the interior, along with the heating system, seems to have been forgotten about for at least 25 years!
I stayed in the hotel in December and to say it was cold would be an understatement! As soon as you went past the reception and lobby area to the stairs to the bedrooms, the temperature dropped by about 15 degrees, the more stairs you climbed, the colder it got! It didnt get any better in the bedrooms either.
The bathrooms had this rather odd pheasant print on the toilet and sink, which added to the bizarre nature of the hotel, while the shower only trickled.
Staff were friendly enough, if at times a bit indifferent towards the guests.
Food was ok, nothing special but the views were very nice.
If you like being cold and creeped out by somewhere, then this is the place for you, however if that kind of thing doesn't really appeal, then avoid Zetland at all costs!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

If you are looking for a generic, bland Celtic Tiger hotel experience, then head for The G or the Clayton. The Zetland Country House Hotel may be a little frayed at the edges, but, in my opinion, that is what gives it its charm.

My girlfriend and I stayed there over Easter and from the moment we drove up the drive we felt that we were stepping back to the Ireland of the 80s, when people had the time to spend chatting with strangers over a couple of pints about nothing much in particular.

The hotel is small enough for guests to get to know all the staff over a couple of days. Bronagh, the manager, clearly knows what she is about and runs the place with good humour and efficiency. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, with a French flair and the view from a window seat in the dining room incomparable.

If you want to get as far away from the brash, busy New Ireland as possible (without leaving the country) then I strongly recommend the Zetland Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IgnacioMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

The location is beautiful and the outside is much like a French country chateau. The staff was helpful and nice. It is expensive, but if you get on their mailing list or inquire about deals, they have them and then I would recommend this place for those deals. If I were paying top dollar I would hesitate a little, but if you can get a deal than this place is totally beautiful. It's a little rundown but they are working on it and the gardens are beautiful. The location is a little way off but I like being off the beaten path. If you are looking on spending some time on day hikes around the Conemara than this is a great place to splurge for the evening. The dinner was delicious too! I definitely recommend the place. Their is a haunting feeling about the house, but I think that adds to the fun of the historical feeling of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lexib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Thank goodness for Imad, the receptionist, restaurant manager and general 'get it sorted' guy. this place hadn't been renovated, at a guess, since the 80's. it is living purely on it's great location: no minibar, no coffee making tray, small towels of the greying variety, 1 out of three lamps working, the gardens view is a bit overtstated (about 20'). I think the owners need to travel a bit and see what hotels - even mid price ones - offer nowadays. The staff were all pleasant and I'm sure if you had a bay view room, nature would have delivered the goods. The restaurant was good enough but trying to hard to be modern Irish but give it a go and if you are there for two nights go to O'Dowd's in Roundstone for the second night. Breakfast was good and the price inclusive.

3  Thank timmmad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews