We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cashel House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our 6th visit to what has become an annual retreat to Cashel with our 2 girls ages 6 & 10. The location is in the beatiful wilds of Connemara which has a unique & ancient landscape with rugged hills & stunning unspoiled beaches nearby - gurteen is our favourite. We always feel well looked after with a personal attention & care from Mrs Mc Evilly, Ray & all the staff who are warm, discrete & courteous. The food is outstanding, particularly the local seafood. We always try to have one of the garden suites which easlily accomodates the 4 of us & is a lovely mix of luxury & comfort. The hotel is large enough so that we never feel we are intruding with our children. There is a children's room with toys & TV/DVD if needed although our 2 were v happy just to roam around. We are always sad to leave & will keep returning.

Room Tip: pay a little extra or try to find a special deal on one of the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newalls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had had afternoon tea in this charming hotel on a previous occasion and were keen to stay, so unfortunately our expectations were high upon arrival. Sadly we were disappointed, mostly by the quality of the room we stayed in. It was dated and the beds were rather uncomfortable. That said, the staff could not have been more helpful or courteous and they did offer to move us to another room (which we viewed and decided not to move).

The breakfast was very good, served in the conservatory with a view of the gardens. The setting of the hotel is quite lovely, but be aware that it is very far from anything (not even a little shop nearby). If you are looking for a remote escape it would fit the bill.

Room Tip: I have heard the rooms in the newer part of the hotel at the back are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach62442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed at the Cashel House on 4 seprate occasions and each has been a delight from beginning to end. Perfectly located in the heart of Cashel with short walks to the best of the area. In the shadow of the Rock of Cashel you feel like you are in the very center of the Irish World. Outstanding management overshadow the old facility limitations of no elevator, but its still worth the stop and the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went to Cashel House for a three night stay around our Wedding Anniversary. We had only ever been once to Ireland (Dublin) before, this time we wanted to see the far flung countryside, and Cashel House looked good in the AA Hotel Guide. The journey from the Ferry terminal in Dublin was interesting: good class motorways right into Galway, then fighting our way around Galway in rush hour, then on to single carriageway roads which got ever narrower and ever more winding. The hotel is very nearly at the westernmost part of Connemara, it has very extensive gardens which are well worth wandering round: we are keen gardeners and enjoyed that aspect of the hotel very much. Don't expect pristine formal gardens, though, they are very naturalistic but no less pleasing for that.
The hotel itself obviously started off as a formal country house but it has been added to here and there and then here again......but that adds to its charm. We had one of the garden suites which looks out onto one of the more formal parts of the gardens, this was a very big room (I counted 18 pictures, some of them quite large, hanging on the walls), it was really a large junior suite with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was good, if slightly lacking in "luxury", but it was more than acceptable and that's the hallmark of this place: you could perhaps be forgiven for thinking, as you walk through the hotel to your bedroom and see it for the first time, that the place is a bit tired. But it isn't at all, any (incorrect) first impression like this is because what you are seeing is the original, but everywhere is very well maintained. I got to love the place more and more the longer we were there.
The food is first class, they have two AA red rosettes and richly deserve them. Breakfasts are excellent. The Dining Room is one room of the old house extended into a lovely airy conservatory. My wife thought it one of the loveliest rooms for eating in she had ever been in, and I agreed.
This is a family run hotel. the chatelaine is Mrs. McEvilly, who has owned the hotel for a long time; she is assisted by her son and staff who are without exception friendly and efficient - most notably the wonderful Ray. Mrs. McEvilly gave me coins for the motorway toll when we left!
There aren't too many hotels like this left. Beautiful countryside, super position, very comfortable and homely, scrupulously maintained and clean, wonderful food, lovely people running it and working in it......what more could you want?

Room Tip: I can't believe there is a bad room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FORRES33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in this country house decorated as if it is still the 1930's. The staff is very warm and friendly, the public rooms with fireplaces are inviting, and the dining room is lovely with a view of the gardens. (the gardens are well worth a walk about if the weather is good). The breakfast was nice - supper was good as well.
Our only complaint was the very limited WiFi access.

Room Tip: It is a good idea to let them know if you have a problem going up and down stairs of which there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was the second hotel in a bundle deal with Gregan Castle Hotel. Having come from there, the bar had truly been raised in regards to setting, rooms, service and food. On all fronts (bar the setting) Cashel House Hotel is way off the pace. Think 1970s with 2008 prices. Fine gardens do not justify the price. Personal touches from the owners are lovely but plaster over significant flaws. From the basics - breakfast was lousy, rooms are unclean, décor is not classic but worn down, room window open and unrepaired. Foreigners and older couples may love the trip down memory lane and the novelty of archaic standards but if they do, they have more money than sense or find the novelty.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness of rooms and if windows close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shootermcgavin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

All the staff are lovely and helpful, food is divine - proper old fashioned metalware, cutlery and china makes it even better - we are on a mission to get a coffee set like they have here! grounds are spectacular (esp in the good weather we had) - all round a fantastic and relaxing time. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: garden suites are enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mise_Anseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
3.6 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
11.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
15.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
11.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range: £143 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashel House Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing