We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing and dated”
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cashel House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing and dated”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Let me start by saying that I truly appreciate the old world charm which I would have expected a country house hotel such as Cashel house to offer. Having stayed in many such establishments - including Gregan's castle, co. Clare and the park hotel,kenmare in the past, I decided to give Cashel house hotel a go. Bad decision. On arrival with my husband and nine month old we were met by a 'porter' who not only expected us to carry our own bags upstairs in addition to a small baby but also to return to our car for the buggy and baby paraphernalia when finished and to carry all that up to our room as well. As we had arrived late on a Friday evening from Galway I asked for a sandwich to tide me over til dinner time. A vigorous argument ensued with the manager who refused my request on the basis that afternoon tea had ended 15 mins ago and told me that I could wait for dinner. Our room was dated, musty and dare I say dirty. Bed linen and furnishings were well worn and tired looking. Breakfast the next day was a mealy-mouthed effort. My husband got one sausage on his plate, the fruit most certainly was not 'fresh' as advertised and portions were generally meagre. The atmosphere was not particularly warm and welcoming and I most certainly will not be back. If you want to experience 5 star service, food and accommodation I suggest you look further. Cashel house needs to seriously up its game if it is to survive into the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    78
    37
    23
    10
See reviews for
58
194
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

this place is great, my girlfriend took me for my birthday and she got a deal from groupon or grabone or one of those sites. the place has such a old time feel about it, full with all the old style chairs and tables and bits and bobs, they use old fancy looking tea cups and all. the staff are great, friendly and very very helpful. the room was huge and the bed was great. gardens are great too, they also have stables and many horses and cats and chickens, lots of birds and even saw a fox pottering around.the food was amazing. dinner was fantastic, breakfast was also very tasty, even have gluten free options and the tea was esp nice. honest to god could not stop drinking it, only bad parts are a bit out of the way and is a little costly when paying full price and no wifi that we could find, but they all don't matter if you are looking for a break from the real world. is a great place to relax and unwind

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roryface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Cashel House is an exceptional hotel which I would recommend to every traveller. It is a wonderful country hotel just by a beautiful cove of Connemara in south western Ireland.

I have stayed three weekends there and would definitely stay again in my next trip. The atmosphere, the garden, the food, the rooms of a great variation and the staff are all something special. The owner Madam is an exceptional lady who takes care of every detail and welcome her guests always with a generous wide smile on.

I am looking forward to coming back to Cashel House, whenever possible.

Levent from Denmark.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back garden are extremely quite and with a wonderful view where you can hear the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Spent a delightful night in the Cashel House Hotel, Connemara recently.
This really is a gem, old world, and genuinely charming in every way. The service, room and food were top quality and the fact that we had availed of a deal offer made it that bit better value.

I can see why so many celebrities fell for it's secluded grace over the years not least Charles de Gaulle and his family back in 1969.
Would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet and peaceful escape.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our 6th visit to what has become an annual retreat to Cashel with our 2 girls ages 6 & 10. The location is in the beatiful wilds of Connemara which has a unique & ancient landscape with rugged hills & stunning unspoiled beaches nearby - gurteen is our favourite. We always feel well looked after with a personal attention & care from Mrs Mc Evilly, Ray & all the staff who are warm, discrete & courteous. The food is outstanding, particularly the local seafood. We always try to have one of the garden suites which easlily accomodates the 4 of us & is a lovely mix of luxury & comfort. The hotel is large enough so that we never feel we are intruding with our children. There is a children's room with toys & TV/DVD if needed although our 2 were v happy just to roam around. We are always sad to leave & will keep returning.

Room Tip: pay a little extra or try to find a special deal on one of the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newalls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had had afternoon tea in this charming hotel on a previous occasion and were keen to stay, so unfortunately our expectations were high upon arrival. Sadly we were disappointed, mostly by the quality of the room we stayed in. It was dated and the beds were rather uncomfortable. That said, the staff could not have been more helpful or courteous and they did offer to move us to another room (which we viewed and decided not to move).

The breakfast was very good, served in the conservatory with a view of the gardens. The setting of the hotel is quite lovely, but be aware that it is very far from anything (not even a little shop nearby). If you are looking for a remote escape it would fit the bill.

Room Tip: I have heard the rooms in the newer part of the hotel at the back are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach62442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed at the Cashel House on 4 seprate occasions and each has been a delight from beginning to end. Perfectly located in the heart of Cashel with short walks to the best of the area. In the shadow of the Rock of Cashel you feel like you are in the very center of the Irish World. Outstanding management overshadow the old facility limitations of no elevator, but its still worth the stop and the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
10.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
11.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
15.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
18.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
11.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Property: Cashel House Hotel
Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashel House Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing