We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Hideaway”
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cashel House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Relaxing Hideaway”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days. The atmosphere is wonderful. It is an old country house beautifully furnished and decorated. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is really exceptional.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegasusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    77
    37
    22
    10
See reviews for
58
192
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Cashel House Gardens were the most amazing wonderful surprise, they were far more extensive that first imagined and the love that has gone into the is palpable. Seeing them in June i think was to see them at their best, the roses were out the boarders were frothy with colour and the lawns immaculate.

The Hotel itself felt a little faded grandure but that did not detract in anyway just added to its charms, we were greeted by very attentive staff and the lady of the Hotel was charming and spent some time with everyone during dinner.

The rooms were spacious and had the best view of gardens and the bay and I did appreciate the warning of bitey things if you left your window open!!!!

The weather was super, who's says it rains in Ireland??!!! Plus heaven if your a cat lover they were everywhere and charming too.

Room Tip: Get a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friend and I spent two wonderful days at Cashel House. The room was lovely - overlooking the front lawn. Comfortable beds. Ample and quite delicious breakfasts. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Having driven from Dublin airport we arrived late at the close of restaurant hours yet they served us a lovely dinner and never made us feel that we were a bother. The gardens are world class; full of unusual plants in a gorgeous setting. Dramatic herbaceous borders in front of the house. The owner kindly researched the names of several plants as we were foreign gardeners and couldn't identify some of the plants. The hotel did have wifi and TV but at the same time we felt transported back in time to a kinder gentler time.
I would very much recommend this lovely hotel to any type of traveler as a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana_T_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was visiting here with a group of people for a conference. Well the journey is worth it, an hour or so beyond Galway and no mobile coverage but then I was away from all that which was no harm. The room was excellent, with plenty of natural light and a warning about midges. Breakfast was cooked to order and the evening meal is a real treat if you like fish, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely grounds and situation close to the water on Cashel Bay, and most of the trappings of a luxury hotel. A good, large, comfortable room and bed. Decent bathroom, good breakfast choices. I'd have expected a hotel of this stature to have a lift, and Wifi in the rooms rather than huddling round the small area in the public part of the hotel where it was available. We ate in Roundstone to get the early two course meal that the hotel doesn't provide, but on balance we'd say this was a successful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed overnight, D, B & B, in May. Excellent rooms; charming elderly lady owner; genuine country house quality of cutlery, mahogany (?) tables, place settings etc. But cold in both bedrooms & dining room and with the impression that both staffing and management were 'light'. Breakfast good, evening meal not. We were disappointed overall. Needs an injection of energy and investment for what is a lovely property in a lovely location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of three days and nights at Cashel House Hotel. We were delighted at every turn. Our room was charming and comfortable with a view of the gorgeous garden below. Visitng the property was like stepping back in time, whether walking through the maze of garden paths or peaking in the parking area at the numerous, antique Rolls Royces belonging to a club that was staying there.

The service was wonderful. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The owners were also warm and congenial. Our highlight was having tea served to us on the perfectly trimmed lawn next to a hedge of lupines and roses.

The food was excellent and the wait staff very professional. We particularly enjoyed the harpist that played during dinner on the last evening we were there. Our whole time there was delightful!

Room Tip: A garden view room is very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backriverbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
10.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
11.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
15.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
18.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
11.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Property: Cashel House Hotel
Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashel House Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing