We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cashel House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

While this family run hotel does have a sense of much faded grandeur, and this can be seen in the decor and facilities, this only adds to the atmosphere and the sense of having traveled back in time when you step through the gates of this marvelous place.
The reception is warm and friendly, and in an unusual plus in Ireland, dogs are welcome. Our beagle had a great time chilling out in the bedroom or snuffling round the beautiful grounds and gardens. Dogs not welcome on the lounge, bar or dining room - which is fair enough.
The owner circulates during breakfast and main evening meal talking to each table of diners in turn in a touch of personal charm that is very rare in the modern hotel industry. The food is good, with the breakfast in particular being amazing (all local produce, mostly homegrown on the grounds), and dinner being good but not incredible. The house wine was very good.
Pay a little extra for one of the more upmarket rooms - you will have a bit more comfort.
Scenery locally is second to none- great for walkers.
Don't go here if you like efficient, modern up to date facilities.
Do go here for a romantic couples break, some time out to write a novel, you like time travel, or just for a quiet get away from the modern world.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the mid-range rooms or upper-range rooms as it is worth it for the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sure T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    79
    38
    26
    10
See reviews for
62
201
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days. The atmosphere is wonderful. It is an old country house beautifully furnished and decorated. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is really exceptional.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegasusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Cashel House Gardens were the most amazing wonderful surprise, they were far more extensive that first imagined and the love that has gone into the is palpable. Seeing them in June i think was to see them at their best, the roses were out the boarders were frothy with colour and the lawns immaculate.

The Hotel itself felt a little faded grandure but that did not detract in anyway just added to its charms, we were greeted by very attentive staff and the lady of the Hotel was charming and spent some time with everyone during dinner.

The rooms were spacious and had the best view of gardens and the bay and I did appreciate the warning of bitey things if you left your window open!!!!

The weather was super, who's says it rains in Ireland??!!! Plus heaven if your a cat lover they were everywhere and charming too.

Room Tip: Get a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friend and I spent two wonderful days at Cashel House. The room was lovely - overlooking the front lawn. Comfortable beds. Ample and quite delicious breakfasts. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Having driven from Dublin airport we arrived late at the close of restaurant hours yet they served us a lovely dinner and never made us feel that we were a bother. The gardens are world class; full of unusual plants in a gorgeous setting. Dramatic herbaceous borders in front of the house. The owner kindly researched the names of several plants as we were foreign gardeners and couldn't identify some of the plants. The hotel did have wifi and TV but at the same time we felt transported back in time to a kinder gentler time.
I would very much recommend this lovely hotel to any type of traveler as a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana_T_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was visiting here with a group of people for a conference. Well the journey is worth it, an hour or so beyond Galway and no mobile coverage but then I was away from all that which was no harm. The room was excellent, with plenty of natural light and a warning about midges. Breakfast was cooked to order and the evening meal is a real treat if you like fish, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely grounds and situation close to the water on Cashel Bay, and most of the trappings of a luxury hotel. A good, large, comfortable room and bed. Decent bathroom, good breakfast choices. I'd have expected a hotel of this stature to have a lift, and Wifi in the rooms rather than huddling round the small area in the public part of the hotel where it was available. We ate in Roundstone to get the early two course meal that the hotel doesn't provide, but on balance we'd say this was a successful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed overnight, D, B & B, in May. Excellent rooms; charming elderly lady owner; genuine country house quality of cutlery, mahogany (?) tables, place settings etc. But cold in both bedrooms & dining room and with the impression that both staffing and management were 'light'. Breakfast good, evening meal not. We were disappointed overall. Needs an injection of energy and investment for what is a lovely property in a lovely location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
3.6 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
11.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
289 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
15.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
14.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Property: Cashel House Hotel
Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashel House Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing