We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed in Connemara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hazelbrook Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hazelbrook Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 7 Cleggan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bovey Tracey, Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in Connemara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but were made to feel welcome despite arriving about an hour later than expected. Our room was very comfortable and had fantastic views. In fact we slept with the curtains open so that we could wake up and take advantage of it. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going for most of the day. We even had an apology for the early morning rain which shortened our pre-breakfast walk. But who goes to Ireland for hot sunny weather?
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely reccommend Hazelbrook Farm to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were on a 2 day cycle round Connemara and Cleggan was the overnight stop. Never so glad to see it as we got soaked and frozen from the rain. (Thankfully the second day was much sunnier!!)
Josephine & PJ were great hosts! She took all our wet gear and tumble dried it or set it out in front of the fire for the night. We were too late to get food locally so he made the world's greatest toasties & tea.
In the morning, the breakfast was superb - plentiful and tasty!
The house is in a great location for the village, the pub & shop only a couple of minutes walk away, yet it is on it's own elevated plot so no noise. This also gives it fantastic views from the front of the house.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed on Good Friday 2012, turning up soaking wet after a days cycling. Josie and her husband couldn't have been more welcoming. They dried our clothes for us - a God send as we had another days cycling the next day and made us a very welcome cup of tea and sandwich.

The B&B is beautifully positioned in Cleggan and the room we had was clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic - cereal, toast then a full Irish. The sun was out and view out of the window of the bay was beautiful. Can't praise the B&B and Josie and husband enough. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balenya SPAIN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I recomend you this precious B&B with closed eyes. It's at the heart of the little village of Cleggan, only a few meters from the bus stop, pubs and the ferry that sails to Inishbofin. Nices views of the sea. Silence at night it's only interrupted by the sound of cows or horses. Josephine, her houseband and "Chico" treated me as if I was another member of the family. Generous breakfast for all kind of diets. Trust in me, the better place to enjoy a singular fishing village.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarisaBcnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Everything about our stay here was excellent. Excellent accommodation excellent hosts excellent breakfast excellent location. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riversider07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Hazelbrook is in a very neat, small village & and is run by Josephine Decourcey and her husband. I found the B&B to be a very lovely, well appointed house with all rooms ensuite as well as tea & coffee provided for your comfort. Impeccably clean as well.. Breakfasts are served each morning to your liking as well as extras such as fresh fruits, yogurts and cereals. I found the atmosphere to be very peaceful and quiet and the host/hostess very friendly and courteous. Also very knowledgeable about the area. Highly recommend Hazelbrook for a place to stay & relax while on your Ireland Holiday.!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and very neatas well as clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amollymaguiretge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC,California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

The Hazelbrook B&B is an amazing home with an amazing view of the ocean. The village for dinner within walking distance, and the beach half a mile away, what a great location. Both our rooms had views of the country side and ocean. Comfortable beds and nice clean rooms. We shared a a clean toilet. Hosts Josephine & PJ are warm and make you feel right at home. Lots of brochure in large group lounge to help plan adventures in the area. I did not want to leave. Breakfast was made to order and a table with a bay view.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleggan
7.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cnoc Breac
Cnoc Breac
#1 of 7 in Cleggan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cornerstones B&B
Cornerstones B&B
#1 of 4 in Moyard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbrook Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook Farmhouse

Property: Hazelbrook Farmhouse
Address: Cleggan, Cleggan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cleggan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cleggan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hazelbrook Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing