We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hazelbrook Farmhouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Doonmore Hotel(Inishbofin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
47
13
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
13
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconnemara national parkb ba great stayan amazing viewevery morningjosephinepjdestinationhostsilence
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hazelbrook Farmhouse is one of the nicest B&Bs we've stayed in. Josephine and PJ made us feel very at ease and welcome in their snug comfortable home. The windows open on magnificent scenery and birdsong permeates. The house is only 5 minutes walk from the small pier where the boat travels to beautiful Inishbofin Island. The house is perfectly placed for exploring both the island and Connemara. The 'full Irish' breakfast was very satisfying and kept us on the go for quite a long time. We hope to return there on our next trip to Connemara - if there's a room available due its popularity! We would recommend Hazelbrook without hesitation to anyone travelling in the area.
Eithne and Colum

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eithne139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We highly recommend staying in Cleggan at this very clean and lovely B & B. We were warmly greeted by Pj, who also made our breakfast the first morning. Mary made it the second day, both times breakfast was excellent. They were great hosts and made us feel right at home. It's a
Very short drive to Kylemore Abbey, the Conamara National Park and other sites such as the Conamara/Dan O'Hara Heritage Center, which we thoroughly enjoyed. It's a short walk to the town center or to the beautiful sandy beach, where we were able to view a dolmen. The view of the sea from our room was exquisite. Always plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. Being spring, only one restaurant was open in town. The food was good but high priced, and if you want a clean restaurant, eat while you're out seeing the sites. The restaurant is no reflection on the DeCourcey's, we just want to advise anyone who will be staying here. The B & B is a true gem and the nicest place you' ll find, plus a good value for the money. The view is really something, too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross and Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but were made to feel welcome despite arriving about an hour later than expected. Our room was very comfortable and had fantastic views. In fact we slept with the curtains open so that we could wake up and take advantage of it. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going for most of the day. We even had an apology for the early morning rain which shortened our pre-breakfast walk. But who goes to Ireland for hot sunny weather?
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely reccommend Hazelbrook Farm to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were on a 2 day cycle round Connemara and Cleggan was the overnight stop. Never so glad to see it as we got soaked and frozen from the rain. (Thankfully the second day was much sunnier!!)
Josephine & PJ were great hosts! She took all our wet gear and tumble dried it or set it out in front of the fire for the night. We were too late to get food locally so he made the world's greatest toasties & tea.
In the morning, the breakfast was superb - plentiful and tasty!
The house is in a great location for the village, the pub & shop only a couple of minutes walk away, yet it is on it's own elevated plot so no noise. This also gives it fantastic views from the front of the house.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed on Good Friday 2012, turning up soaking wet after a days cycling. Josie and her husband couldn't have been more welcoming. They dried our clothes for us - a God send as we had another days cycling the next day and made us a very welcome cup of tea and sandwich.

The B&B is beautifully positioned in Cleggan and the room we had was clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic - cereal, toast then a full Irish. The sun was out and view out of the window of the bay was beautiful. Can't praise the B&B and Josie and husband enough. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews