We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B”
Review of Cnoc Breac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cnoc Breac
Ranked #1 of 7 Cleggan B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good B&B”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Would agree with all the reviews on here. A very good B&B - room was good value, clean and comfortable. Tom was very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. The B&B is in a lovely location,overlooking the sea and a 5 minute walk into Cleggan itself. I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My 23 yo daughter and I spent a weekend here in a spotlessly clean, comfortable room in this pretty house up the lane, on the crest of a knoll, in a most beautiful spot in the beautiful west Connemara. Location was everything here. The room and bathroom were small, the breakfasts tasty and filling but nothing special, the hosts pleasant but not friendly.
Stay here for the location! Walking into Cleggan is very easy, wildflowers abounding, and the small town was alive with music. Sunsets and twilight on the coast were truly awesome and driving to the far west beaches and rocky outposts on tiny winding roads with ponies and herons all around is your imagined picture of the West of Ireland coming true. Connemara National Park is an easy drive and that area is crossed with hiking trails. The ferry to Inishboffin is in Cleggan and that trip is very worth your time for hiking, seacoast history, birding, and island beauty.
Overall this is a quiet, restful, lovely place to lay your head after days of enjoying the gifts of the area.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midweifathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota,Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed here because we were going to Inishbofin, and the ferry leaves from here. The room was a nice size, and very clean. The Irish breakfast introduced us to the huge, great breakfasts that were to come on our Irish trip. The owners could not have been nicer nor more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPPY237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This lovely B&B does what is sets out to do ~ simple,home-feel, well cooked breakfasts & clean rooms.

As in the previous reviews our room was simple (basic some may say) but spotless and the shower was good.

Mary & Tom King are as helpful as can be without being over the top. If you want anything just ask, if you don't they will stay out of your way but aren't being unfriendly just giving you your space.

They will always make time for a chat as they pass through

If you want a no frills stop this is for you ~ location is fabulous and the walk to Cleggan easy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnymac1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2006

We stayed here in June - seeing the review below prompted me to write mine.

This is a fairly basic B&B - small room and smaller bathroom but it was clean and not expensive. The landlady was very welcoming and breakfast excellent.

The location is the thing here. Cleggan itself is a small fishing village (though the local restaurant charged large prices!). If you turn left at the top of the hill this road takes you to a deserted beach (as opposed to turning right to enter Cnoc Breac parking) but if you go further on past Cleggan, take any right turn and you end up at stunning beaches.

We ate in Clifden - Browns Hotel have an excellent 25 Euro set dinner (with choices) with huge portions and good quality food. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NicC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Cnoc Breac is an excellent, traditional B&B. It is no frills - not the fanciest of furnishings and no TV in your room but everything works well and is spotlessly clean. The landlady, Mary King, is very welcoming and genuine.

The breakfasts were the best of an extended recent trip - cooked to order.

The place is spotless and the bed we had was very comfortable. Decent shower too in the small bathroom (but not the smallest I've seen in a B&B).

A huge advantage for us was that this B&B is walking distance from the village of Cleggan - so you can wander down to the village for a pint and back again without having to take the car.

All in all Cnoc Breac is first class at what it does - offers bed and breakfast in non pretentious surroundings for truly exceptional value.

find it on Ireland under accommodation.

Helpful?
2 Thank RealBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleggan
6.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
5.8 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ocean Wave B&B
The Ocean Wave B&B
#4 of 7 in Cleggan
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea View B&B
Sea View B&B
#6 of 7 in Cleggan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cnoc Breac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cnoc Breac

Property: Cnoc Breac
Address: Cleggan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cleggan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cleggan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cnoc Breac 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cnoc Breac is a modern family home in a peaceful scenic area 1km from the little fishing village of Cleggan. From Cleggan you can take the ferry to Inishbofin and there are Angling and Horse riding centres in the village. Cnoc Breac is the ideal base for touring Connemara as Kylemore Abbey, Connemara National Park and Connemara Golf Course are only a short drive away.We provide safe storage for bicycles and there is free WiFi throughout the house. At Cnoc Breac we will help you to enjoy one of the last unspoilt corners of Europe.You can ramble along almost deserted beaches or quiet country lanes.You can stroll to the restaurant in the village and enjoy a Guinness in one of the pubs and perhaps hear Traditional Irish Music. At the end of the day our ensuite bedrooms offer you a good night's rest. In the morning enjoy a hearty breakfast and we will be happy to advise you on what to see and do in Connemara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cnoc Breac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing