We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE MUST HAVE VISITED ON THEIR "OFF" DAY!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Compadres Mexican
Ranked #22 of 130 Restaurants in Lebanon
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“WE MUST HAVE VISITED ON THEIR "OFF" DAY!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

While planning a nostalgic driving trip that would take us through Lebanon I first looked for a restaurant that had top reviews on TripAdvisor. That is why we selected this restaurant which was ranked #1 in Lebanon, TN. It was Sunday lunch when they have a big buffet for the large after-church crowd. We got there toward the end of the "rush" so were not surprised the steam tabled food looked a bit past its prime and decided to order off the menu. We both had fajitas which were overcooked, in fact the meat was slightly burned. This place is very large and it was a busy day so we didn't make a fuss and chose to say nothing. We didn't even want a box to carry out what was left over, which is unusual for us. We probably wouldn't be back even if we lived near there, but in all fairness to the restaurant my advice would be to try it on a slower day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brush Creek, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is our favorite Mexican place!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We've been coming here for many years and it's just always consistently good. Most everything is good. I really like the tacos authenticos! Just a great all around dish! Great margaritas!!! And love that they make the top shelf guacamole right at your table! Really good stuff!

Helpful?
Thank bd4vols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mex to the Max”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I am from New Mexico and was really wanting some good Mexican food and this restaurant delivered to all 4 of us. As someone who is gluten intolerant Mexican food is my go to when going out so I have had well over my share of so-so and yucky mexican food. This was lots of food for your $ and well cooked with plenty of flavor. We all had different meals and all of them were great but mine was the best.

We started off with the table salsa and chips which was really nice as the salsa had a good deep flavor and heat but wasn't trying to melt anyone. (we all can eat medium level chili with no problems)
I had the Shrimp Fajitas with Mexican rice, refried beans and all of the traditional toppings. What took it out of the normal realm was the great cheese sauce and the fact that everything was cooked correctly. The rice was NOT just white rice with tomatoes but true mexican rice with the deep richness of rice cooked with tomatoes, chili, onions and salsa. The shrimp were tender and yummy and plenty of them, non of the skimpy small 6 you usually get. The others had burritos and combo plates that they said were just as yummy as mine. (as they had flour tortillas I could not taste them).

All delivered at a price that was competitive but not out of this world. The service was fast and friendly with special touches like a wrought iron cactus to hold our purses and hats. The decor was fun and different while still evoking Mexico.

I look forward to going back when we visit our friends again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weilok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lebanon, Tn”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent food and atmosphere. My meal was in a cast iron pot(bowl) was hot. One of the best Mexican meals I've ever eaten. The service was great and the waiter and server were very friendly. If I'm ever back in the area, I'll diffenet

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Margarita!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were with a huge crowd so we expected slowness. A fellow dining companion needed a gluten free menu and finding anyone who could understand and provide that was a challenge but we had an awesome time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Compadres Mexican also viewed

 

Been to Los Compadres Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing