We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, helpful, cosy....a nice place to stay”
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
San Sebastian de la Gomera, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Homely, helpful, cosy....a nice place to stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed one night Dinner plus B&B courtesy of Connemara Safaris. Very comfortable accommodation....our room was in an annex out the back. Only slight criticism was that the bedroom & ensuite bathroom were a bit small but adequate and well equipped with plenty of towels, shampoo, soap, kettle with tea/coffee facilities. Flatscreen TV which was nice to have although we didn't find much time to use it (came in from our walking and immediately retired to the lovely bar for pints of excellent Guinness before a gourmet dinner after which we simply fell into bed!)
Service in the bar, the restaurant and at reception was very friendly and quite efficient in a laid-back sort of way.

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early I suspect you would prefer the annex which is generally quieter. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    96
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
161
139
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Its good old fashioned hospitality - lots of Irish people like me still want - this kind of experience is superb. And probably unique in Ireland today. What is more personal service than when the owner (owners son ) is there to meet you off the boat , greet you and take your luggage and check you in and make sure you get a good meal in the busy bar in the late evening. Any problems you encounter they will sort it out - I had none. That's what I call service done with a good heart.
Long live that kind of experience.

Room Tip: If you tell the staff exactly what you want they will do everything in their power to get you what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for a few days in July. Great location with wonderful scenery, brilliant staff, great food breakfast is amazing and a perfect bar for food.We had a room in the extension at the back and it was lovely and peaceful.murrays is a excellent hotel .will be back next year

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2jennypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here last week and it was just lovely. We had the advantage of good weather which was a bonus. The hotel is in a lovely spot with stunning views and scenery. We had a room in the extension at the back and it was lovely and peaceful and as it faced the front we had a sea view. The room was large with big comfy bed and power shower. (Room 20). Had flat screen TV and WIFI hairdryer and kettle. Food was delicious. We ate in both bar and restaurant. Breakfasts were great and set you up for day. Staff very friendly and always willing to chat. Picked up and left back to ferry by Andrew if you want or the bags can be taken and you can walk down if you wish. The old part of hotel is quaint and maybe a bit dated but it adds to charm. Lots of little nooks and crannies to sit and relax and read. Nice sun room and picnic tables out front. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at back in new extension are quieter and possibly more modern but then you may not get view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciatogher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Meath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days in July with my family. This was my first stay here since circa 1980 I loved it then and I still love it. Great location with wonderful scenery, brilliant staff, great food and a perfect bar for food and some of the best music sessions you'll hear west of Galway!
Don't hesitate to book before the season is over you will not regret it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Feenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First time on the island and we were there to celebrate a friends wedding. Amazing spot. We were charmed in a big way by the place - the locals were incredibly friendly and the scenery was jaw dropping. Murrays is a really nice quaint hotel. Yes it is basic but we could not fault it in any way. Staff were excellent, breakfasts were first rate and the food and drink in the bar could not be faulted. Overall, a really enjoyable two night stay. We will 100% be back and there is no question that we will be straight back to Murrays. Recommended +++++

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SurfsUpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Doonmore is brilliant!
The fantastic staff,excellent food and the guaranteed entertainment make for an unbeatable experience.
If you want to enjoy old Ireland at its very best go to Innishboffin and stay at the Doonmore.Step back in time and enjoy every minute of the good life.
A great location for views,walks,bikes and trips to the beach.
And everyone is so friendly.
Very difficult to leave --can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
13.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
11.4 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Property: Doonmore Hotel
Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing